Mr. Braun | My First Sculpting and Experimental Lighting

in #art5 years ago (edited)

No, not the Mistah Braun! from Steins;Gate, this is a different guy. I mentioned that the pumpkin Jack O' Ripper was my second sculpting that I finished first because I wanted to post it for Halloween, which makes Mr. Braun here have to wait. 

I'm very happy with the final render. Making this was both frustrating and joyful process as a beginner. For Mr. Braun here I experimented with bumpy clay texture, if you notice the bumpy surface all over the model. What I want to make is a character portrait with no actual colours of the model's attributes, rather I want to experiment with shades of brown for everything, if I word it correctly. His name, Braun, is derived from "brown". 

Mr. Braun

Without further yapping, let's jump into the process. But, sorry if this isn't detailed enough because I forgot to record it when I make this.


Plain Ol' Cube 

Basically everything in Blender starts with a cube. Whether you want to make a character, animal, tank, weapon, food, interior, all of them start with this boi right here. I mean, I could have just render this cube and call it Mr. Braun, but, you know. But! you can, of course, change the base shape to something else, but for this one I turn this cube into...


...A sphere, with subsurf modifier. Can you see the final shape of Mr. Braun like the above images already? No? Me neither. 


I've seen some CG masters on YouTube start sculpting with the sphere above, but I prefer to further tweak the base mesh for easier sculpting by pulling it up and down until I get this nice head and neck shape. 

Sculpting

Aaaand this is why I should have recorded this instead of backtracking like this. I shaped the head further in sculpt mode and sculpted the face. The chin, ears, jawline, lips, nose, nostrils, and eye sockets. Those are the most difficult parts to sculpt ranked from the easiest to the hardest. 


Did I say eye sockets is the most difficult? I take that back. I found myself stuck even longer with the hair (including the mustache and the eyebrows). Making clean edges for cartoony hair is far more difficult than I thought it would be. Using the crease, invert crease, pinch, and smooth brushes, plus an infinite amount of patience is the key to achieve that. Still, I can't make it perfect.


After hours of refining the face over and over, I create the clothing by retopology the lower part of the body, copied the base mesh for the clothes from the bust itself so I get clothes that perfectly fit the body shape. It's almost like being a tailor. Added a little more touch in sculpt mode and I have this.

Texture and Material

After I'm satisfied with the sculpting, I applied the "shade of browns" to everything except the monocle. Then proceeded to create the bumpy clay texture in the node editor, although it doesn't look much like clay. The only thing I've done with texture paint is the eyeball. It's awesome that I could combine both bumpy and glassy texture to it.


Mr. Braun Process GIF

Aside of making him look more like a gentleman, the top hat was to cover up the top of his head because I couldn't sculpt a decent looking hair. But I thought if I don't learn now, will I keep making excuses like this from now on? No, I don't want that. So I decided to sculpt the hair and surprised myself. But since the one with the top hat looks good too, why not both, yes?

Initally, the lighting was normal white light just to give a nice lighting for the character. Then I played around with the lighting and created this trippy lighting. And I said "lighting" for like 50 times now. 

What do you think, Steemian? And for 3D artists, if there's any that happen to see this post, what do you think of this for a first time sculpting? Am I going places? Opinions and criticisms are welcome. Thanks for stopping by!



Click the icons below to join some of the best Steemit community on Discord where you can meet and hang out with awesome fellow gamers and artists, and help each other grow.

                  


©2018 Adam Rainite Lawsone
Sort:  

This is really cool, @rainite <3 I love it :D Very nice render and the lighting are done nicely too :D I love the one without the hat, but both are great, but his hair is amazing <3 <3 <3

Thank you verymuch, @veryspider! That's verykind of you XD I'm still so not confident about my lighting and the hair sculpting, but I'm glad you find it great.

Well done :) This is some quality stuf.

Thanks, fellow 3D artist!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Hi there,

We did notice that your are a real Artist. Do you want to share with others your great artworks and earn handsome rewards?

We are pleased to invite you to join Artisteem.

Artisteem is a platform, where you can contribute your artworks and earn the great reward. You even can have a chance to get an awesome prize if you participate in the contest and make it to the top.

For more information about Artisteem, you can find out here:

Don’t hesitate to contact us via discord channel to make friends and discuss further information.
We are looking forward to seeing more posts from you in the future.
Thank you and regards,

Hello there, fellow 3D artist and Blender user! This is a great post and demonstration of Blender's sculpting tools.

It's nice that you started with a cube. I do the same, however, I usually make a lowpoly model with it, before I start sculpting the details.

I haven't sculpting anything yet for posting here in Steemit. I'll make time for it soon. You may check out my posts to learn more about me. :)

Thank you, fellow 3D artist and Blender user!
Yep, that cube used to look so 'unfriendly' for me as a beginner because I didn't know how do you make anything out of it. I can't say I'm now an expert, but I know my way around with it.

I see you have way more experience than me, and professional too. I'm only 1 1/2 month into Blender and have no idea how to make money for a living out of this, except working at Blizzard or something lol. Also, I wish you luck on your job application!

Hello @rainite, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

What an interesting incredible process! How long does it take you to do this?

Thank you!
I can't remember how long exactly, but I think it took me almost the whole day, including the texturing and lighting, since I'm a beginner and worked so incredibly slow and careful. But it was worth it!

Definitely worth it, it is wonderful!

A very cool breakdown

And it's great to see you sculpt with Blender! I do too sometimes.

Thanks!
I see you've been busy with your animating, and is looking good at it so far. I haven't touch rigging and animation yet, though. I'm following to see more of your work.

Woot woot! Another 3D enthusiast also in Blender. Love it. I'll definately keep on publishing - specially for a special follower like you.

I am not a 3D artist (I'm actually no artist at all) but I like your sculptures! And I enjoyed your step by step progress. I like both of them but the one without the hat looks.. I don't know.. more friendly? :)

Thank you for sharing!

Thank you! I tried to make step-by-step to be as friendly for non-3D artists as possible. Judging from your comment I take it it's friendly enough, as friendly as the model without the hat. So I'm glad. ^_^)

It's absolutely friendly enough :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87