Watercolor Painting - Country Cottage and Garden (Wip)

in #art6 years ago (edited)

WIP=Work In Progress

Middle Ground and Foreground 2nd Layer

The rose bush will not look anything like it does right now. I will be softening the leaves and working on shadows and highlights to define the bush. The roses will end up a soft red, using the complement color of green to add shadow and calm the brightness down. Green mixed with red depending on how little or how much red or green you use will give you nice shadows and soften harsh colors. Usually, when I shadow I use a complementary color or a purple color, this keeps the colors vibrant. Using black for shadows sucks out all the color and makes a painting look muddy.

Everyone in my house is getting sick, and I have been busy cooking and cleaning like mad and trying to cheer people up. It sucks when one gets sick in the summer, so I try and help out. I don't fill sick yet; maybe I won't get the stomach virus this time around? However, I usually end up getting sick when everyone else is on the mend. I am a typical Mother; we put off illness to care for others.

22 x 30 inch cold press, 300lb cotton watercolor paper, watercolor and gouache

I've been able to grab a few hours to paint a little bit here and there. Today I was able to sit quietly for two hours straight!

I went back over the background with cerulean blue and covered all my lighter areas with a light wash of cerulean blue (light blue) which gives the painting a dreamy quality. I define the flower beds and rose bush. I worked fast with a lot of wet on wet work to get the bleeding color for variation of foliage in the middle ground flowerbeds.

My second layer of paint is now finished. I will start adding details to the house and deeper shadows. I haven't worked on the cat Cleo yet. I will be working on her in the end when everything is finished.

Cascoon/Poison String/Iron Defense

E my granddaughter, 9 years old, soon to be 10 submitted a drawing of one of her favorite Pokemon's, Cascoon.

11 x 14 inches, drawing paper, crayon and gel-pen.

  • Art And Writing Projects For June 2018.
  • 1. Cottage And Butterfly (WIP)
  • 2. Cottage And Butterfly (WIP)
  • 3. Cottage And Butterfly (WIP)
  • 4. Cottage And Butterfly (WIP)

  • some_text A link to My Blog

    Sort:  

    OMG, this is beautiful. Nice painting @reddust.

    @reddust,
    By using few layers you show lot of details of the artwork so far! Just imagine when we see the final layer of the artwork! Seriously I would like to spend my life at such kind of dreamy place forever! Keep it up my dear friend!

    Cheers~

    Good job, friend, you show the immense talent you have for art, you are a wonderful person, despite having incredible wisdom, you are a woman with immense talents. Greetings @Reddust

    I wish I were wise; it would make every decision I make easier, most of the time I go through life mystified and perplexed about how crazy we all are...

    Thank you @deisydavi <3

    it seems that this house is set in a forest landscape ,, maybe almost the same as my house ,, i'm so flattered ,, :))
    I always dream of a house with a page that can be planted with several trees

    This is my dream house too @steemitnatural, we have the same taste in homes and natural settings.

    nature gives us the comfort of my friend, we can meditate very calmly

    wow ,, my favorite image shows its appearance ,, you are really very careful in choosing the color ,, I become jealous of you my best friend ,, I become more curious about the end result

    @steemitcountry and I'm jealous of you Papaya garden, so we are even! I think I will finish this painting before the end of the month. It is coming along very quickly.

    ha ha ha .. god gives us different blessings my best friend ,,,

    oh @reddust, your painting is very touching my heart, this is amazing, i was carried away in a fairy tale, a clasic house and filled with flowers.
    I am very impressed with the results of your efforts.
    thanks have made my heart happy in this picture.

    Thank you @milend, this house is typical in many parts of America, it's a classic country cottage. No fairy tales, the garden, and yard take lots of work.

    The painting makes me think of a simpler more innocent time. Prayers to you and your loved ones in the sickness you are going though. May you all embrace happy health soon. Thanks @reddust.

    @enjoywithtroy, the simpler times have not gone away, we have to make life simple, thank you kindly for the prayers. Let's pray I don't get sick in the end and the family has to clean up after me....(I hate that) hahaha

    It's a wonderful work again as usual. 3 things caught my attention. The depth of field, red roses and pink flowers. In one word fabulous. Congrats @reddust

    Hopefully, my colors won't fight too much, the pink and the red fighting for attention @turkishcrew. The red won't pop as much once I add some pine green shadows. Thank you @turkishcrew, this painting will be hanging in our living room.

    Hi @reddust this sounds awful "Everyone in my house is getting sick" talk me more about it please i mean the virus are strong?

    You could be busy but you have the time to creat great drawing for us :). Regards

    It's a stomach bug, with achy muscles and a headache @dim753, I feel fit as a fiddle myself. Thank you <3

    Oh the stomach problems are so maddening and i know what i say because i have irritable bowel and today i ate some ice cream and you know i accept some pain for the a momentary tasty pleassure hehehe, i hope your family could find a speedy recovery because family is the engine for us. Regards

    I took something like that, a painful pleassure hehehe

    That looks so yummy and you know I am on a diet...you are teasing me ... hahaha <3

    I have changed the WIP meaning from Work In Progress to Well Intelligent Painting :) It is amazing even if it is the work in progress

    Thank you @wondercircle, I like to break complicated or busy paintings into little steps. This makes everythng very simple and easy.

    every little steps leads to the target without getting tired :) @reddust

    YOU ARE WELCOME

    Coin Marketplace

    STEEM 0.26
    TRX 0.11
    JST 0.033
    BTC 64111.27
    ETH 3065.56
    USDT 1.00
    SBD 4.00