Odinism

in #art6 years ago

Northern European Mythology and Religion

I've been reading a lot of academic books on Buddhism for over twenty years, I like learning about religions and philosophy. I am not a religious person, really I am not, I am a curious person, I want to know how things work, including myself. This includes all the stuff we build around ourselves to protect us from the unknown, which includes our gods, faith, rituals, and beliefs.

I was fascinated by the TV series American Gods, which is about the ancient Gods that have been all but forgotten (Including Jesus) and the new gods of Technology. The Old Gods are not going to go quietly, and that was when I was introduced to Odin. I painted Mr. Wedensday who is Odin in the series. While I was painting, I looked up who Odin was and why he only had one eye. That's when I kinda fell in love with him, which is a very, very dangerous thing to do because I may end up losing more than my head if I get too close to him.

After Watching The First Season Of American Gods, My Second Drawing

My Husband found the Book called the Gap, which is about Northern Pagan Religion in reaction to the modern world. Which reminded me of Sophia Perennis, a group of philosophers fighting to keep the old traditions and religious views alive through philosophical discourse. I read a book review about the Gap and the movement behind it and found the author has read Rene Guenon's books, he is part of the Sophia Perennis group. I've only read a little of the book, the passage I copied from the book reminded me of the skull I drew last winter. I decided to share the drawing and the reading with my Steemian friends along with some book links and videos. Have a lovely weekend!

Woton

Gangraðrsmal

The whole word is a mound in which the man is confined.

Loki’s people are not aware that they are dead, do not see the funeral walls of their world and do not wish any better destiny outside their grave. Odin’s people, who realized their confinement and abandoned it, rush to interflow with the ambient Nature and gods. They become heroes, leaders and rulers of this world.

The mound is being erected in the likeness of this world, and the Universe is the same mound for those who have merged with it. Hoenir’s people are aware of their confinement in God and take the Way of Overcoming, the Exit of this even much bigger mound. In compliance with it there are three initiations, and nobody can initiate a man into them except He Himself.

The mound is being erected in the likeness of this world, and the Universe is the same mound for those who have merged with it.

Hoenir’s people are aware of their confinement in God and take the Way of Overcoming, the Exit of this even much bigger mound.

In compliance with it there are three initiations, and nobody can initiate a man into them except He Himself.

The First Initiation

– is sacrifice of the animality (Ego).

When the wolves Geri and Freki tear to pieces and greedily devour the thing you considered to be your very self at this stage. Overcoming animality in his self the human becomes the man.

The Second Initiation

– is the sacrifice of “human, all too human”.

When Odin Himself drinks the blood from the bowl of your skull, having overwhelmed with the Spear of Consciousness the thing you considered to be your very self before.

Overcoming the human in himself, the man becomes God.

The third initiation

– is the sacrifice of God (The Highest Ego).

When the human-God destroys the mound-Universe Odin sacrifices Himself to Himself, chaining Himself with the Spear of Consciousness to the World Tree, interflowing with the Shining Gap.

Odin is manifested in everything: He is the Creator of the Worlds, their Guardian and Destroyer.

He – Oðinn who pierced Himself to the Ash Yggdrasil, it means: Ygg – Horse, drasil – horseman, The Horseman of Ygg – Odin Himself.

He pierces Himself to Himself sacrificing Himself and slides down to the Gap revealing the main Secret from the inside.

And all this is developing in His Own Self, all of the Worlds are only the pattern of His Consciousness.

The Man can be the slave of his animality (Ego), as many other people are. The Man can be the slave of his humanity, as some other people are.

The Man can be the slave of God (Supreme Ego), as only few people are.

The Man can be Himself outside the slavery (Ego) and the slave-owning (the Highest Ego), and can manifest himself as the Shining Abyss – GinnungaGap.

  • Gap, A Left-Hand Path Approach to Odinism

    Norse Mythology A Neil Gaiman Audiobook

  • Sort:  

    I just heard about Odin, I think first Odin is Dajjal in Islamic belief, but after I see your explanation Odin can not be equated with Dajjal.
    I have a problem, after I read something I quickly forgot what I read ..

    Dajjal=false profit, yes this he is not within the Northern European traditions. Odin was a God among many gods, but he was much more than a human or a God as he could manifest as either one, he is everywhere and in all things but is not a thing. Things are bits and pieces of other things, a co-dependent relationship. The book I am reading the author writes about Rene Guenon thoughts regarding our Modern world: "In the 20th century there appears traditionalism – the type of the worldview opposing itself to Modernity and declaring Tradition as the highest value. A French philosopher Rene Guenon is considered the founder of traditionalism.
    Literally “tradition” means “transmission, chain”, Guenon insisted on the immediate transmission of initiation inside tradition, and having analyzed the surrounding reality, considered the Sufi branch of Islam as the only initiatic tradition which still exists, and became Sufi master after his removal to Cairo.." The Gap, page 121

    @steemitcountry, I only remember what I am intrested in, which can cause problems in daily life...hahaha <3

    hopefully I also always include a part of your happiness, so always remember me, ha ha ha

    I never forget a face, only names @steemitcountry <3

    you are diligent to learn something so you know a lot, my grandmother where I work just sit to eat betel, ha ha ha
    Odin do you mention whether a god, or an ordinary human who sacrifices for the sake of another human being? I have never heard of Odin, thanks for your explanation my friend, success always make you friend

    The sacrifices Odin makes in context with this article are unto himself, he sacrifices parts of himself and even his own life to attain wisdom and knowledge. In the Northern European traditions, he is also the God of War and patron of Kings. He also carries many other titles, but I am only interested in how he sacrifices himself to know who he truly is, this reminds me of Buddhist view regarding things that are dependent on other things and continuously changing cannot contain a permanent, eternal self. Who we are must be discovered through inner contemplation and insight like the meditation you and I share and to move through reflection there are many sacrifices we must make to see reality as it is or for those who believe in God, to know God.

    ok, thank you for your explanation my friend, i can not find Odin comparison in context of islam or sufi

    There is no context except the sacrifice of self, to step out of way to know who you truly are (wisdom) to truly know God not just the label or name of god or take the habit of faith as God.

    @reddust,
    My dear friend you are doing a great research study! It's not an easy thing to do! So looking forward to read more on this subject as well!

    Cheers~

    Highly rEsteemed!

    A lil' cross casting for you. Very nice story.
    SteemON m'lady.

    loki.jpg

    Loki is the trickster and teacher, he causes schisms, shows the Gods they are dark and light and cannot save anyone except themselves, funny he can’t save himself...hahaha, such a bad boy👹

    1544640F-3179-4CEA-908C-F7EDB4B83EDE.jpeg

    7C47F3FD-340D-4614-A8B9-EFA5A94FB3E9.jpeg

    I have spiders visiting me all the time, this one was sitting on my knee whilst writing too you....the spider goddess, the weaver of the universe has something to tell me but I can’t hear her, my ears are full of Steem.

    Hahahaha.... Why didn't you hear her? And if you can't hear her, follow her actions.... Laugh

    I really don't like spiders, especially the way they wive round the house.lol

    I had a vivid dream years ago of a tall blond woman with ice blue eyes standing in front of me pointing her finger right in front of my face; dangling from her pointing finger by a single thread of spider silk was a huge spider...the woman said nothing to me as she stared fiercely into my eyes. I guess it is time to spin a new universe I thought, but I don’t know how to do that. I also thought her pointing a finger on my face was so rude, then I woke up😆🕸🕷

    Wow!! May be she is from your lineage and she is trying to pass out a message to you. Sound weird !!

    What’s weird is I usually don’t remember dreaming...I can go years without remembering my dreams...spider woman is represented in many cultures as the weaver of reality or universes.

    Hmmmm!! Sometimes all the things in this world seems complicated. There are so many things we believe and we don't believe in. But what I believe in is faith.

    Faith is the believing of what you don't see and have total confidence on it happening.

    But one thing I admire here is your drawing skills and knowledge. The art looks perfect though it's scary. You should get some awards for this @reddust.

    Odin is a gods and he as done so much in his time including the sacrifice. Didn't know much about him though, may be if I have the opportunity to watch that movie. I may understand better.

    Thanks for sharing @reddust

    The Viking religion is gone with most of our pre Christian religions of the West, I’m tying to find the bits and pieces that survived, my DNA is 98% WESTERN European, so I’m naturally curious how my people lived before the invasion of Eastern religions 🤓

    Of course, I know that about you. You are a good researcher and a knowledge seeker. Sometimes I do wondered where exactly the origin of those ancient people.

    For instance, a part of Nigeria claim to disseminate from Brazil. Wird!!!

    Where we came from is a mystery, but who I am is an even bigger mystery, which is Odin’s quest, to see self beyond the windowshield of our ego🚗

    Who are you @ohakfarm? Hahah, the Nigerian people are handsome and very smart❤️

    I'm a Nigerian, and Yoruba ethics to precise. I thought you knew before. Hahaha 😂

    You know in Nigeria, there are so many ethics. The Hausa's, igbo, Yoruba, Nupe, Fulani and many others.

    But I'm a Yoruba boy...... 😂😂😂

    , the Nigerian people are handsome and very smart❤️

    That's a good compliment on us.. Thanks mam

    My first foray into mythology was Indian, Greek and then Roman (Greek and Roman have blurred a lot into each other). I went to Norse mythology a little late but found it equally fascinating if not more.

    These days what little people know of Norse mythology, is from the Marvel comics movies like 'Thor'. Not surprisingly the mythological world of the Norse in the movies is far different from what I have read.

    Odin now a day's is merely portrayed as a powerful king ............ people truly have forgotten of the mythical one eyed wanderer with Huginn and Muninn over his shoulder.

    Greek mythology was my first read around the age of 10 or 12 years, I fell in love with the Golden Apples, the Golden Fleece, and the story of Agamemnon a Great King with a dysfunctional family. I realized my family wasn’t the only one that had issues ...hahaha 💀

    https://www.thoughtco.com/agamemnon-116781

    LOL! the link that you gave..........I know its tragic and all but some of the things these people did were just so outrageous that you can't help but laugh :D

    I think myths are teaching stories, I have learned a lot reading them as a child😉 we are just as outrageous as all our myths, take the people in the news, Loki has been playing with our news media....hahah

    American Gods is one of my fave books. Gaiman is a master. Love your drawing. Its fascinatimg looking into gods (and goddesses) as they do tell us something about humanity. The power of narrative is also a big pull for me. Great post x

    I love Neil Gaiman, I’ve read most of books except for American Gods, which I will read this winter. I have the audio books of the stories from Norse Mythology, I love listening to books as I paint❤️

    This remember me of Scandinavian Mythology and Religion of their gods known as Odin in the film called Vikings, Odin has been the ancestral gods of the vikings for thousands of years, and it is their believes that when they die in battle that they will have a feast with their god odin in vahala @reddust

    Scandinavian myths are powerful, the Northern people have to be hardy and ruthless as their Gods because of how hostile the cold northern winters. Cabala reminds me of the Muslim myths of war and transcendence. We humans are a violent lot☠️

    You write very interesting and informative articles. Every article is new information. I will now search this topic and find the resource book. Thanks @reddust

    Thank you @turkishcrew, i am a curious cat, researching Odin, makes me think I better have nine lives if I discover he is still alive...hahaha🐈

    Just found you and wow just wow! I love the ammount of detail such as the runes all over the skull. Thank you for making awesome content ! Im following you now.

    Thank you kindly @emptyintentions, I like your name💀

    Coin Marketplace

    STEEM 0.26
    TRX 0.11
    JST 0.033
    BTC 64777.26
    ETH 3101.53
    USDT 1.00
    SBD 3.84