Danielle Portrait 🇧🇷🎨

in #art5 years ago

0f73e0d3-bf40-491f-9d10-316fe528c627.jpeg


I started painting this portrait of Danielle on the Caribbean island of San Andres in Colombia. At that time I was staying in a local, Caribbean family run hostel called ‘Big 5 Raizal House’. Whenever I would take out my computer and Wacom to paint Danielle in the reception area of the hostel, some of the local kids would come over, sit and stand right next to me and watch me paint. They would be fascinated and ask me about what I was doing, who Danielle was, and even help point out mistakes of mine, or where they thought I could improve the painting. That was a nice experience for me in the early stages creating the artwork.

I have now just finished the portrait far away from the intense heat of the Caribbean in my home town, Brighton, England.


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

Very nice! It looks realistic as you got her face very well. I like those highlights on her face and hair. They bring her in front of the painting. I also like the background. That would be my happy place :) I like her glasses! They fit her well and they also make the image somehow complete.

Thank you for sharing and have a lovely day!

Thank you! I love libraries and books too :) I deliberately chose to darken the background areas to make her face 'pop' out more and have more contrast. Thank you for commenting!

Hey awesome painting. Please try to give all the process photo with the final painting. I believe that will attract more viewers and you will get much more audience and reward in steemit.

Thank you, that's a good idea. I might make a blog post showing the steps and explaining them. Really appreciate the suggestion, thank you!

First I thought it's a picture then I thought it's a painting. Now I know it's a digital painting. 😄

Indeed you did a great job here! @robbieallenart
I've experienced the same about crowd gatherings it's so cheering but now I'm more consumed by Steemit and other Steemians.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you very much! I'm glad you thought it was a painting on closer inspection, that's what I was aiming for :)

It's nice but it can be distracting! Even more difficult if you're creating art outside and people stop you to talk. But it is nice.

Hi robbieallenart,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you very much, really appreciate it! :)

very nice, you're very good !! the colors are super !!
congratulations

Thank you very much!

Congratulations @robbieallenart! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 2000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 3000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

That's excellent news, thank you!

Oh wow look at the portrait, It looks surreal. I wonder how pretty Danielle would be in real life, I mean being a female - she looks so damn attractive to me to. Painting her and then kids watching around sounds fun.

I loved your painting, congrats on your curie, wish to see more from you in future :):)

Hello @robbieallenart, you definitely did a good job with the painting. i like it very much, Daniela looks amazing, she looks so real to me. I imagine you sitting in the hall area and kids all around you watching what you do. That must have been really fun for them. Maybe some of then haven't even seen such a digital work.

I love the colors you have used and how life like you have got the shades in Danielle's hair. It is great you shared this with a whole lot of kids and I am sure they maybe would love to try this themselves one day.

Beautiful
You did great highlightinh the face. Nothing better to turn an otherwise boring library into a memorable place than a smart girl, with smarter eyes, and even smarter hair :)
I see an irony here.
Pretty girls are usually considered dumb and artificial. The way you painted the books on the shelves (no marks, etc), makes the girl look very realistic and the books not so much. It made me remember the library of Silas Lapham in William Dean Howells' novel.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70112.96
ETH 3549.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71