Last Sunset In Copenhagen - PAINTING (En Plein Air) 🎨

in #art5 years ago

eac0cc9f-d62c-4b0d-89d5-ae6facd09777.jpeg


Last Sunset In Copenhagen

It was my final day in the City and I wanted to make the most of it. So I rented a bike for the day to get around and enjoy as much as possible. After visiting the impressive Glyptotek museum, I wanted to find a nice spot to paint at sunset. I actually struggled at first to figure out where I could go. I wanted to find a place which wasn't packed full of tourists and noise, where I could sit alone in nature and properly enjoy it. I walked around the central area with the colourful houses along the canal, but it was too hectic and distracting to paint. The sun was already dropping behind buildings, so I had to find somewhere fast.

Then I remembered seeing a church a couple of days before, that was right by a lake, close to a military base in the City. I remember seeing it in the early morning when I went for a run, and the impressive colour and light effects from the trees, falling on the old Danish architecture. I didn't know the exact location, but I did know the direction. So I got back on my bike and cycled. I got to a traffic light and ended up asking who I thought was a local, who was actually a Lithuanian for directions. The traffic light turned green as she was explaining, so we cycled up the road a bit together and stopped on the side. I showed her a photo, and she told me exactly where to go.

I raced through the trees and along the path and found the church. Then I needed to locate a good spot where I could shield my sketchbook away from the setting sun. I run up the hill just before the military base, and found this little spot on the side of the hill, and sat with my legs hanging over the edge, and placed my brushes and paints in the grass, surrounded by plants. The military had to ask me to leave as I was making my final marks, but I had got enough down already.

And this was the result!

Painted with watercolour & gouache.


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

@c-squared thank you very much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00