Lessons Learned from My Holiday Craft Fair Booth

in #art5 years ago

First, thank you so much for your support of my floral wreath booth! I very much appreciated your well wishes. Since @yogajill asked for more pics, I am sharing an update with more pics and taking this time to also reflect on how it went and what I learned.

idyllwild-studio-22.jpg

Because some of you expressed interest in starting you own booth but feel you didn't have enough products or you are too shy (both of which I've felt!), I'd like to share some of my own fears too and how some of those fears do become reality and how not to let that hold you back.

Choosing the Right Venue

This is my first year producing a large quantity of dried floral wreaths and committing to selling as many of them as possible. This is also my first year moving to our small, rural town in Oregon. One of the first things I did when we arrived here was to get myself involved in as many community activities and gatherings as possible - Earth Day festival, farmer's markets, trail maintenance, gardening help, artist meet-ups, workshops, etc. And these activities were my best way of connecting with others and learning about local events that I began considering.

It was at an artist meet-up that I learned about Pacifica's Winter Arts Festival and after chatting with other locals, I learned that this is a very well attended event, with music, food, and many local artists. I kept a close eye on our local online "bulletin board" for when they accept applications. I prepared my products in advance, took good photos of them, and applied. The fee for a booth was $40, which to me is quite reasonable, as they provide a table as well as product racks. As you reach out to different venues, it's important to ask what the fee covers and how many customers they expect.

When the holidays came around, I began to realize that there were many holiday events around our area, including larger ones in the bigger towns. By the time I reached out to those more popular events, it was already too late to get in, so another lesson: do your research early and apply early.

At the event itself, as I chatted with other vendors, I learned that this year, Pacifica was less attended than previous years because the local economy tanked quite a bit and people are tighter with their money. The local vendors knew this and priced their products lower than before. Which leads my to the next lesson.

Pricing

I priced my products according to what I've seen on Etsy as well as my experience selling in Santa Cruz, California. I was in for a rude awakening!

At the show, there is another dried floral wreath maker, whom I've met and know well. She runs a local non-profit educational farm here for many years (thus already established a good reputation) and had attended Camp Joy and learned wreath making in exactly the way I had. I admire her tremendously and was really nervous that I had such tough competition.

Another lesson: get to know your competition.

When I came to her booth to say hello, I was shocked by the price tags on her wreaths! They were HALF the price of mine. We chatted and she explained that the market here are composed mostly of farmers, homesteaders, and travelers, so they can't afford the prices she wished she could charge and knew the wreaths were worth. We both lamented about how much work actually goes into each wreath. But she loves making wreaths and was doing it more so for the joy of it than to make income. She encouraged me to expand my reach to nearby cities because my prices would be right there. **A hard lesson learned: price your products according to the socioeconomic status of your customers or choose a different venue.

idyllwild-studio-30.jpg

Product Display

When I visited my friend's booth, I also noticed hers was much better lit with white light (rather than yellow light which makes it hard to see the colors). My location was not only dark, but set back against the windows, instead of near the walkways, so it was easy to miss.

My rack that was standing closer to the walkway got a lot of attention, whereas my table by the wall had half as much. People also like to be able to pick up things and look at them from different angles. So the farther away the better.

If you can, request for a high traffic location with good light (or bring additional light).

idyllwild-studio-26.jpg

Success

It wasn't all hard lessons though! There were good ones too. The booth gave me a great opportunity to see which of my wreath designs sell well. Surprisingly, my "Forest Scene" wreath was the one that did the best and was sold. So I learned that I can make more of that design. Make notes of what attracts people and what sells. Make more if that!

My yarn and dye tea towels also sold well, but mostly to people who were avid knitters and dyers. Those who weren't enthusiasts seemed turned off by the pricing as they didn't understand that my products were hand dyed.

idyllwild-studio-11.jpg

While the booth was not a wild success as I had hoped, I learned a lot and now I can improve next year. I learned a lot from other vendors who share with me their experiences - many of whom also did not succeed the first year or second year, so don't take it as a judgment on your work but rather like anything worth doing in life, it takes practice and patience :).

Sort:  

Everything is a learning experience. I love that you took positives away from this comma even though it do as well as you thought it might. Your work is so beautiful and it must be hard to consider dropping the price given that you put so much work into it. I know a lot of people who make homemade products that suffer the same dilemma. Are you going to do regular markets? Or is this something that you do just once a year question mark you have inspired me to make my own Christmas wreath, of course with an Australian angle comma however no one will be around to see it as I am on my own for a month when the boys are in England full stop the house across the road has the most lavish display of Christmas lights I have ever seen. But it does make me seem a bit of a Christmas Grinch to have nothing at all. However I don't want to spend money on Christmas lights lol as I hate all of that stuff. It seems like such a waste of the Earth's resources to me. I'm babbling on now haha xx

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for the compliment. I forgot to mention in my post that I definitely did receive many very positive and nice comments. The artist next to me who made gorgeous woven rugs she dyed from wool of sheep she raised and plants she grew, not only complimented my work but also bought a dyed tea towel from me. It was so encouraging and humbling.
I am considering going to the local market here but I worry that wreaths are more of a seasonal product. I can see the dye products doing better but the market sentiment being more frugal I wonder if it'll be worth the effort. I also hear a lot more interest in workshops as the folks here are so crafty and creative so I will be trying that. I'm teaching a wreath making workshop next week and will work on a downloadable guide next.

I hope you will make your own wreath! It's always more satisfying to make natural art and incorporate natural elements from your surroundings. Dried floral wreaths last for years so your kids can still enjoy them.

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow! Looks really nice! I wouldn't mind paying that much for one of them but its nice that some people think about how much other people can afford. I'm sure you'll do better next time! I'm glad it was a success even if it wasn't that great, at least you put a lot of work into it!
|/,,

Thank you for valuing my work. I really appreciate you saying that. It's a tricky thing to decide to lower or raise prices. It's tricky to even put a number on one's own work. The tip I often get from other successful businesses is that raising prices actually leads to more sales...I'm not sure how true that is, because there's other considerations like your audience, marketing/sales channels, overall market sentiment, and how long you're wiling to wait. I'm taking these advice with a grain of salt and will definitely try a few other options before lowering my price.

And here I thought being by windows and natural light was a plus! Shows you what I know about displays and selling. :)) I am glad you were able to connect with the other vendors and learn from them.

And I can see why your Forest Scene wreath went so well, it's truly lovely!

Ha yes I thought the same! When we set up the light was beautiful and the next day it hailed so it was dark and dreary. Thank you for adding your vote for the first scene.

Posted using Partiko Android

We often have small market stalls and have an Etsy shop. The pricing we use is no way compatible between the two. As you found out, maybe 50% or less at the market. That's because on Etsy, you have a targeted, cashed up audience. In a market, you have to attract anyone who passes by. It's all good fun though

Posted using Partiko Android

I like that attitude - I think it's fun too and I enjoy being part of the community

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for sharing your experiences. Very helpful!

You're welcome and I'm glad that others can benefit from my lessons learned :).

Hi @sagescrub! Don't I feel extra special with your sweet mention 🧡💐 Thank-you for the up close pictures!! The wreath, bundles of yarn, colorful yarn and YOU look great! I really enjoyed that. While it would be sweet to enjoy instant success, live & learn is also a great model. There's just so many variables to understanding the market and what will be successful. Experience does go a long way in that you've sure had some great 'golden nugget' learning take aways so you can re-evalute your approach looking ahead. I just want to send a big hug your way 🎶😊🙏 and commend you on your positive attitude and involvement with the community and the new friends you're making. Anything is possible!! What an awesome post of sharing your experience at the market. All the best!! See you again soon.

You are special in our minds! I was a bit discouraged at first. It was hard to pack things up again, but after a few moments, I gathered my strength, shifted perspective, and began looking at how I can improve and the positives. I realize that I must be the champion of my own work because others will not if I don't. This is also only just the beginning. I look forward to improving and continuing to try new ideas. I always feel a big cosmic hug from you and it's very warm and comforting. Sending you much gratitude and the warmest of holiday cheers!

Hi @sagescrub!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.057 which ranks you at #3417 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 213 contributions, your post is ranked at #83.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations @sagescrub! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @sagescrub! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 27000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 28000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64852.72
ETH 3178.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.20