Finished Painting - Icart Point, Guernsey

in #art6 years ago

Hello Steemers

A couple of days ago I started a small oil painting of the view from Icart Point located on the island of Guernsey, UK. I uploaded a post on Steemit to show the process of starting the painting and blocking it in. Here is the Steemit link:

https://steemit.com/art/@samuel-earp-art/the-start-of-a-new-painting-how-will-it-turn-out

Today I finished this painting and I am pretty happy with the result. The above Steemit link shows the first part of the process and this post will show you how I completed it.

This is the finished painting.

'Icart Point, Guernsey', 16cm x 28cm, oil on canvas.

So to recap from the my last post this was the view I painted and two of the reference photos I used.

So this is how my painting looked when I had finished blocking it a few days ago when I painted this from start to finish. Today I spent a few hours finishing my painting. 

I've been trying to loosen up my painting style so it's less detailed and more 'painterly'. I am also finding that less detail often gives the illusion of detail as the human brain fills in the rest of the in formation.

At this stage of the painting I revisited the sky and refined the clouds, I was already pretty happy with how they were at the first stage of painting this so they didn't need much work.

Using a small dagger brush I added finer detail and brush marks to the rocks and cliff faces in light in the mid ground of the painting. I also sharpened up the shadows in the cliffs to emphasise their forms.

Here I added more detail to the sea but I was being careful not to be too detailed as it could start killing the rhythm of the painting.

I finished painting the grass in the foreground using a much more saturated green than in the distant cliffs. This brings the grass in the foreground forward in the painting creating the illusion of atmospheric depth and perspective. 

I complete the painting by adding the whitewater in the sea by the cliff faces using titanium white with a little bit of yellow oxide mixed in. I also paint the whitewater that is in shadow.

Overall I didn't want to be overly detailed with this painting as it's quite small but I also wanted to maintain its vibrancy from the initial blocking in phase. I really feel that less is more and it works in this case.

I hope you enjoyed this Steemit post, check out my website for more painting demos and my art: samuelearp.com

Check out the link to my previous Steemit post which shows the process of the first stage of this painting.

https://steemit.com/art/@samuel-earp-art/the-start-of-a-new-painting-how-will-it-turn-out

Sort:  

amazing and so realistic...how can I have a talent like that? lol... What a great art work I really like it..

That's a beautiful art....i appreciate your photography. thanks for sharing this post.upvote and resteemit done.

Nice read. I leave an upvote for this article thumbsup


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Amazing as always @samuel-earp-art! 🎨 👏👏👏
BTW congrats for the C^2 🤠

🎉 Congratulations @samuel-earp-art! 👏, your amazing Artwork has been selected to be featured in my curation post.
image

Love your use of colors and the opaqueness! Definitely looking forward to seeing more of your art :)

Such a beautiful piece of work! Years ago I took some watercolor classes and 'dabbled' in it for some time, so I totally appreciate what goes into something like this...a lot more than I was ever able to manage! Great job ;)

wonderful artistic realistic work. I love it. Go ahead.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87