Plein Air Painting - View From Opua, New Zealand

in #art5 years ago

1b10d7d7-5a02-4c03-8880-f453a6d4153f.jpeg

ec99ad35-a71b-4812-aae7-737de60533ce.jpeg


I’ve been spending a lot of time in my studio recently especially as the weather has been a bit chilly these past few days, it’s winter here in New Zealand at the moment. Today however I needed to get outside, get inspired and paint outdoors which is something I absolutely love to do. I’ve been wanting to paint this view for the last couple of months and today was a good day for it, there were dramatic clouds, intermittent sunlight and I was loving the mood and atmosphere of this winter day in the Bay of Islands.

It was nice to be outside painting and it was actually quite warm in the sun, I was in a t-shirt getting some much needed sun on my skin...another benefit to painting outdoors.

I painted this artwork in oils and the view looks towards the Veronica Channel and the Bay of Islands vista painted from a promontory in the village of Opua.

View From Opua, Bay of Islands, 19cm x 25cm oil on canvas, painted outdoors en plein air.


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

This is so refreshing to see. !


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Was it actually warm or just warmer than you've been used to because it's no longer quite so freezing? XD Yay for warmer and getting vitamin D!

very well done

Wow, very nice!
I really love this country.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11