Isolation

in #art5 years ago

Isolation-2018_sanderjansenart.jpg

Isolation

Started this drawing about a week ago. It is made with ballpoint pen and ecoline ink. I bought an ecoline markers set of ten colors last week from the brand "Talens" to try out something new. Usually I use watercolors to color ink but wanted to try something else.

So I started drawing something on a5 paper with ballpoint pen which is something I did before drawing blobs. I wanted to combine a few colors and wanted to use red and green as they are complimentary colors. Eventually I had the idea to make something with a message and worked out the idea of a bigger creature in the center being isolated while among others and came up with the title "Isolation". When I did all the red I felt like I should leave the bigger creature white as it already looked great and had some doubts about the green color I had.

The set I bought:

Here are my progress shots

I started with pencil setting up some lines and draw with ink after. The end of some of my pencils are kind of ruined by my pencil chewing cat Rembrandt which makes it sometimes difficult to read which one it is.

progress1.jpg

progress2.jpg

progress3.jpg

progress4.jpg

And here is the final result again:

Isolation-2018_sanderjansenart.jpg

It felt good to draw something new again and to draw something with a message. Hope you like it?

thanksforeverything-sanderjansen.png

www.sanderjansen.net

Sort:  

Hi sanderjansenart,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you for the support!

He must feel very lonely and isolated between all those red fellows. His expression is kind of frustrated.

I really enjoy seeing different kind of your work and I'm glad that you're doing other things too.

Your monsters are cute in any shape and color ;)

Thank you for sharing and have a great weekend!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Your characters look so simple but they always carry some deep meanings. I like the white and red colours on this one, I think they speak clearly about isolation as a theme, being the odd one out and the feeling of not belonging.
                     
Congratulations for your curie vote ^_^.

Thank you very much!

You are very patient and diligent to have been drawing those small stuff with all those details. But your subject is amusing. He is not only isolated. Everyone else around him is also with grim or unpleasant aura. Why the isolation subject?

Thank you very much! Well I think Isolation is something people can really relate to at this time of the year :)

Oh, why do you say that? I think most people feel the opposite. Holidays are coming. As they say, it is the time to be jolly!

Cheer up!

It perfectly captures what isolation really feels. Isolation isn't just a physical sense, it's an awareness that there is nothing to connect to in the outside. This work can be a good illustration when describing depression for lonely people even with the amount of social support they are getting.

Thank you very much! Yes you can be among others but still feel lonely and isolated.

Like the painting and the idea of using other color made it really bright. I can imagine how that creature in the middle feels himself trapped just in centre and probably can’t escape easily and of course as always amazing to see the variety of the face expressions of little once. Really funny.

Thank you very much! :)

¡Hola @sanderjansenart!El aislamiento es un signo de depresión, que debe ser atendido por profesionales, en el dibujo se ve y se siente, que sufre, aunque este rodeado de muchas personas, no se siente bien y no se incorpora al grupo, espero que no seas tú la que estas sintiendo eso, no esperes más y busca ayuda, la depresión es una enfermedad que no se ve pero es terrible, me desvié un poco de tu obra de arte, está muy buena serviría de ilustración para las revistas médicas, cuídate cariños y besos, ahhhh te felicito por tu voto Curie.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64104.40
ETH 3148.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25