Introducing - Joëlle Sauveterre !

in #art5 years ago (edited)

jöelle-lunch-banner.jpg

·····················

jöelle-lunch-web.jpg

Hi Friendly Folks!
Since I spent a good chunk of last month dabbling in traditional ink media, I thought I'd show some more of the digital side of things. Some of you may already know the comic I am creating with @painted-bees [ Woven, go check it out ;D], so I wanted to show you some characters from another story I am building called Pilgrim Adrift.

There will be airships, eldritch monstrosities, and lots of adventure!

Ahem Anyhow, this lass here is one of the protagonists, Ms. Joëlle Sauveterre [Dr. pending]:"

·····················

"One of countless daughters within her clan's 3rd House, Joëlle didn't waste time to pour her inheritance into her academic pursuits. Now a sponsored graduate at Nova Lutetia, she's attempting to cement her expertise in Orphic Geology by amassing the largest collection of specimens/samples harvested from any anomaly she can fund an expedition to.

Her 'ocular condition' doesn't render her blind, but does result in poor eyesight, requiring significant corrective lenses to offset. That being said, with the help of custom lenses, her eyes are able to discern ranges outside of visible light, granting her a significant advantage when observing and analyzing samples in the field. Although she is well-liked amongst her gentry peers, she has difficulty mingling with a large subset of the population, due to superstitious fears regarding her 'blood sight'."

·····················

Alrighty, let's take a quick dive into the process~

jöelle-lunch-process01.jpg

Started off with a reaaaaally rudimentary stance sketch. The pose, weight and line of action were all off, but I only needed it as scaffolding for the next sketch.

jöelle-lunch-process02.jpg

Pose issues have been rectified and I am happy with the overall shapes on the page!
It is time to start committing to the lineart~

jöelle-lunch-process03.jpg

There we go. I was going to have her dragging a cohort [Strauss, to be introduced later], but as you will see, this plan fell through...

jöelle-lunch-process04.jpg

In the end, I opted out the other character and replaced it with a bag of 'groceries'. I also added more lines and started to colour them in preparation for the colours. Speaking of which:

jöelle-lunch-process05.jpg

Flat colours have now been added! It is time for the final touches :D

jöelle-lunch-process06.jpg

Added in the shaded areas with a multiply layer and harmonized the colours a little with some overlay layers.
Done!

·····················

There we go!
I hope you folks enjoyed this little exploration of my thoughts and process.
Be seeing you again shortly <3!
Cheers!!!

Sort:  

Lovely post, @seanbon! Congrats on been featured in @trincowski curation, well deserved!
I like her cheeky smile, good pose and dynamic lines.

Thank you!
It brings me a lot of joy to find out how much folks love her design and portrayal~

found you through the @pifc and my friend @trincowski i like the grand and detailed blog, keep steeming

Will do!
Thank you so much for the support :D !!

You are very welcome and maybe you could do a pay it forward blog with two you like to. Just search for two accounts snd make a blog it Will get you exposure to

JOEELLLL I LOVE this piece so much, Her posing is so fluid and just OOZES personality. I NEED TO SEE YOU DO MORE CHARACTER PIECES LIKE THIS LMFAO pls i'm dying.

ε=┏(・ω・)┛

Haha that rudimentary sketch is the most I could get ut of me haha :D the 3rd pic was really where the magic started to happen :D She looks pretty cute considering she just killed a T-Rex for breakfast hahah :D

@tricnowski and his love for arts got me here :)

Hehe, thank you ;D !!
She knows how to keep herself fed~

Nice post @seanbon!

Her 'ocular condition' doesn't render her blind, but does result in poor eyesight, requiring significant corrective lenses to offset. That being said, with the help of custom lenses, her eyes are able to discern ranges outside of visible light, granting her a significant advantage when observing and analyzing samples in the field.”

In addition to your obvious artistic talent (I don’t have any of that, but I can admire it in others …), I really liked your description of the new character for your ”Pilgrim Adrift” story. All the best with your creative efforts to bring it to life!

Dropping by to support your post, after @trincowski featured it in our weekly @pifc community contest.

Thank you so much for dropping by :D !
Most importantly, thank you for the support adn good vibes!

Yeah, I dig it, the design is lovely, it has a steampunk science vibe mixed with some Made in Abyss style, maybe a touch of Monster Hunter? Anyway it is lovely, expecting more of this now!

I'm excited that it is still giving off a steampunk vibe! I am trying to position the aesthetics somewhere within the steam-dieselpunk continuum, but combined with a hefty dollop of Asiatic culture.
I am also most pleased to be lumped in with Made in Abyss and Monster Hunter <3
Thank you and standby for more :D !!!

awesome character and very interesting story behind that. Will look forward for upcoming comic book.. i found you through the post of @trincowski where he featured you for @pifc ..

Thank you for stopping by :D !
I have been most fortunate to be featured by @trincowski ~
All this nice feedback is giving me energy to move this project forward!
Thank you!

🎉 Congratulations @seanbon! 👏, your amazing Artwork has been selected to be featured in my curation post.
image

Awesome :D!
Thank you so much for featuring me ; w; <3 !
It is a great honour~

Another great animation! She looks like her 'groceries' (that look like dinosaur) were really heavy :) A bit creepy but also funny at the same moment. Her expression is like the one of a happy hunter.

I like to see your progress photos and I also like that you showed us the changes that you did.

Great job! Thank you for sharing Sean!

Thank you and you are most welcome :D !!
She is indeed very happy with her prize since it will probably go really well with roast yams and potatoes~<3

Wonderful work @seanbon. I agree with @painted-bees. She really does ooze personality. I really like the lay out for her storyline. I can't wait to see more.

You were featured for week 34 of @pifc's Pay It Forward Curation Contest by @trincowski. Keep up the great work!!

Thank you for taking the time to come on over and comment ;D <3!
I can't waited to start posting more information about this project soon!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64418.55
ETH 3157.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06