Inktank #9

in #art6 years ago

smaller_logo.png

Here's three recent art posts I've enjoyed. More info on why I'm doing this in my not-yet-written #introduceyourself post.

In the meantime, just know that I'm doing this to both improve my life by learning to better appreciate art and to encourage good visual art here by promoting my 3 recent favorite pieces and sponsoring one of them for a share in #steembasicincome.


Bes

by @katharsisdrill

My comment

Bes is so ugly-cute, what a great subject. Gotta enjoy that attention to the shading - thanks for not giving up on it.


I introduce myself to Slothicorn / More art inside

by @cookiespooky

My comment

The color from the pen is what initially drew my eye to your post. I really like that, as you said, it gives you a great feel about the artist's state of mind at the time of drawing. There's also something bold, akin to people who do the crossword in pen, to it.


Memento Lowly, Memento Mori "The Conqueror Worm (A Tribute To Richard Scarry)

by @beauwhiteart

My comment

Where to begin?

First of all, I adore the texturing on this. Then there's all the little light reflections (so much shine!). And, of course, the thematic contrast between a memento mori's usual themes and the worm, which becomes less of a contrast and more of a complement the more you think about it. I like the diamond composition and the contrast between the worm's head and the blank wall. Finally, I need to give you props for the attention to detail on the apples - not just the skin striations, but the little sugar spots are even included; did you work from a reference, I feel like I could almost guess the variety. Maybe fuji or honeycrisp.


And the favorite is...

There's just so much great stuff going on in their piece, how could I not vote for @beauwhiteart!

Sort:  

Congratulations @see.feel.write! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63722.47
ETH 3049.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.03