Simple things are the best ^_^

in #art5 years ago

My positive thought for tonight (here it's 10:00 PM) is about the simple things, those simple things that make me happy or just in a relaxing mood. It's friday night and I'm on my sofa watching an old movie where Peter Ustinov played Poirot (I love so much the Agatha Cristie's novel and the mobies about them). My cat is sleeping close to me and my hubby @paolobeneforti is tudyng some new words play. Everything looks really quiet tonight and I'm enjoing these quiet moments!

I'm feeling a bit like this relaxed cat I sketched some years ago:

It was a very nice friday, started in the morning with a friend of ours who came to us because we bought one of his wooden sculpture that I love so much! Tomorrow I'll take some pics of this new piece of my artworks collection, but I can say you it's really a fantastic pieces of primitive art! ^_^

This artist has a styla that I really like. He used to work studying ancient pieces of artwork, tribal and primitive art, making his own representation of them. He sell his works all around the word and some of hes pieces are also inside the italian center of  the Guggenheim Museum in Venice. Fortunately he's a friend and so we can buy some of his pieces at a very good price ^_^

He's also open to collaboration and he asked to us (to my hubby and also to me!) to collaborate with him on his next art book and we are happy to work with him, because we use to exchange with him tips about different tecniques and others. I have to say that appreciate this, because here it's not simple for an artist to find another artist to exchange experience and tips. It's more common to find someone who think (or hope) to be an artist, but even if he/she never sold anything and even if his/her skills are really poor, thinking to be a great artists he doesn't want to give/receive tips or exchange experiences with oters. Poor people, really poor in spirit and in art ^_^ Every time I met an artist, a professional artist who really sell what he/she make, I never had a problem to exchange experiences and it was always a great inspiration for me like a person and like an artist too ^_^

So, my tips for everyone want to be an artist (or a creative person, sure) is: be open to the world and always ready to learn something! ^_^

See ya soon,

Silvia




silvia beneforti
Sort:  

Yes simple things are really great, and because of their simple nature, sometimes we take them for granted as well.
                     
It's good that you met someone wonderful, that's always a pleasant experience :).

As an amateur artist myself .....I hate labels, I actually create because I see so much around me every day that "speaks" to me, inspires me. I am not creating in order to sell my works for an income...I love your posts. I agree that often the simple drawings and sculptures can capture the imagination more than a more complicated piece.
It's great too to share ideas and to collaborate with other artists. There is always something new to learn, differents insights, various techniques...life blesses us with so much to play with.

I honestly think it's not the money that define an artist, when I wrote about artist who never sold one piece I'm thinking about people who define himself (or herself) a professional artist thinking to be better than everyone else just because they think it's cool to be an artist, but nobody buy their artworks so it means there's something wrong in what they say ^^ Here in my city I met a lot of this kind of people, they use to say "I'm an artist and so I have nothig more to learn". This is really wrong, an artist (I know people who are really talented but they use to paint or sculpt just for theirself, every artist has always something new to learn and experiment, because there is always someone who knows more than us. This is true in art, but also in life. ^^Share ideas and to collaborate are always activities tat can make an artist more rich (not in money, sure ^_^)

Hi, @silviabeneforti!

You just got a 0.09% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hello @silviabeneforti, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63722.47
ETH 3049.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.03