Working on my head-balloons ^_^

in #art5 years ago (edited)

During the last months I often sketched some head-balloons on my sketchbooks. A lot of balloons in form of human heads in a sort of caricatural way. Ok, they are nice, but as a single balloons they doesn't say anything and so I'm trying the right idea to improve them, adding my balloons in something more complex.

As you know, the most part of subjects in my painting are just face+neck or from waist up, I paint other parts of a body just few time, there's not a reason for this, I just love to paint faces ^_^

In the last time, after I worked for my short comic (it will be published in a book around september 2019), I started to feel the need to work on the entire body of a character and on more complex scenes. It's not simple, because I have the habit to focus myself on the face and so I'm exercising my hands a lot to draw hands, feets, different poses, arms and legs, etc.

I don't have so much problems when I have to paint, for example, an hands in a realistic way, but my own style is an illustrative style and so I need to "find" the right way to paint/draw an hand that fits perfectly in my style, because of this, I'm studying a lot of different part of body that famous illustrators and comic artists use to draw (you can see one of my studies here) ^_^

Yesterday, while I was exercising myself drawing hands, I thought it could be nice to add an hand in a scene with one of my balloons in form of head and this was the result:

To make this one I used my watercolors and a black ink pen (at first I simply sketched the main lines with a pencil ^_^). I made this piece because I need to see if a similar scene can work well, but I'm thinking it could be more interesting if I draw an entire body instead of just an hand. I have to think about it.

Yesterday, when I started to work on it, I thought to use watercolors just on the face, but when I finished to add colors there, I thought it was better if I add a color also on the background to improve the contrasts in the drawing.

In the following pic (they are not good pics because I took them in my lab and using my smartphone, sorry), you can see the work in process of this piece and my beautiful watercolor box:

See ya soon and steem on!

Silvia

silvia beneforti

Sort:  

It's like being tied to yourself, your thoughts and not wanting to let go. A great concept to add a hand to the balloon. It can be interpreted in various ways.

It's a simple and beautiful painting. Thank you for sharing! Have a great weekend and I'm looking forward to seeing more from you 😊

Thanks ^^ A great weekend to you too ^^

I love this concept of the head as balloon. Floating about, full of hot air, wondering at the world and not knowing who is holding the string. This says a LOT about our world today :)

Very clever @donnadavisart ...

"... full of hot air, wondering at the world and not knowing who is holding the string. This says a LOT about our world today :)"

... I like it! 👍😊

Posted using Partiko Android

You're right, It's what I wanted to say drawing this ballon, dear Donna! Looking around, especially during this time here in Italy, I think there are too uch balloon like this, a lot of "heads" who don't know who is holding the string. I'm happy to understand what I wanted to represent, it means this drawing catched the objective. Thanks so much, dear Donna!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

That is a creepy drawing... I like it :D.
                     
And it's great to see that your watecolour has been used heavily. I bet many great arts have been produced from these paints :).

I'm working on some creepy heads, inspired by the caricatural studies of Leonardo Da Vinci (if you search those charicatural faces you can see Leonardo was also a great caricatural artist in the ancient time ^^).
and yes, in the past I used a lot of time my watercolors, it was the first medium I used in my way on art ^
^

It’s a beautiful drawing and painting! The face is the important element in body! I like how you choose your color of painting, it’s wonderful work.

Hi, @silviabeneforti!

You just got a 0.13% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Your post was upvoted by the @art-venture account after manual review and included in Art-Venture magazine. The upvote and support of Art-venture magazine would greatly appreciated!
Unbenannt-1a.jpg

Hello @silviabeneforti, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30