My Experiments With Watercolors - Idyllic Little Chicken by The Pond (Plus Muzumi The Best Chicken Pics)

in #art6 years ago


Good morning (or whatever) friends of the inter webs. Today I have some art to share with you!

Tuesday of this week was a picture perfect autumn day for us in the Okanagan. Clear baby blue skies coupled with the shining sun and a slight breeze that rustled the poplar trees like a song, yet the sun was not too hot and the wind not too cold to enjoy time outside. This is why autumn and spring are my favorite times of year, because here in the Okanagan the summers sun will give you heat stroke in 10 minutes outside and the winters are harsh and cold too. Autumn is the best time of the year to get outside and enjoy yourself, even if you may need a sweater on occasion. 

Such a perfect autumn day compelled me to go outside and paint! I had the urge to experiment with my watercolors more, since they are such soft and delicate paints that remind me of this time of year. I had to frantically run around and find my water colors first, but once I had I set up my art stuff by the pond on this glorious day, and @offgridninja sat down beside me to read his DnD novel that he adores. 

I figured I should just paint something I could see, but in my own way. Cut out all the details and human-caused-junk in the way and I had a pretty scene to paint. I mean, I would love to paint the details as well, but I am not that good yet... this is probably my 5th time trying to paint with watercolors after all so I gave myself an easy task to try.

I love the colors of fall! If you would go into town, everything is still green. In some places, it is still green up here as well. That is because our trees are not dropping their leaves because of the cold yet, but because we are in an odd spot on the mountain and all of the water has run away. So, we experience autumn a little earlier then everyone else but that is okay for me! It gave us a beautiful scene that sunny Tuesday, and I am grateful for the beauty of the world yet again!

I enjoy painting my interpretive landscapes! The way watercolors flow together, the layering and the colors, it is all very peaceful. However, I also find it sort of challenging to predicts what the colors or layers will do since I have such little experience with them. Practice makes perfect I suppose! And so practice I shall. 

This painting was pretty simple though, I used a couple different techniques that I know about, like dry brush for texture. The hardest part of the whole scene was probably catching a chicken to draw haha (and making the poplars look like trees). Damn chickens are not into posing for paintings very well, except for our little pet chicken Muzumi who we managed to get to stay still long enough for me to draw the outline at least haha. No details though. 

Finished product... for now!

On that note, Muzumi has moved into the big chicken coop now and we are almost certain that it is indeed a he. We had a very gender fluid chicken there for a while, no one could tell if it was a girl or a boy. I have always felt like Muzu was a cock though, and it turns out he probably is with his tiny spurs, spunk and attempts at crowing (which really just sounds like a chicken trying to scream and puke at the same time at this point). Our little baby is all grown up! Me and @offgridninja have mixed feelings on it all, but Muzumi is an independent chicken now!

However, he still loves to cuddle after dark. He has not figured out where home is yet either, so he just wanders into the house when the big chickens go to sleep haha, and then we cuddle him before putting him in the big chicken coop. Such a cute chicken.... Here is a little montage of the best chicken ever Muzumi. 

When Muzu was a tiny baby he did this really funny thing where he rode his mommas back.... It reminds me of Hog Momma and Hogs from the anime Seven Deadly Sins. This momma was fierce.

Muzumi + Ryan when  Muzu was a tiny little peeper to when Muzu is turning into a big clucker! They grow up so fast <3 :'P He is a fierce lil cock now, not a fluffy peep anymore. 

I can't wait to see how big he gets! Since he is only about 4 months old now. 

Anyways, that is all for today fellow Steemians! Since it is getting cool and everyone else is going back to school, I am motivated to write more and more and will be learning and posting about my activities as time allows. So thank you for sticking with me and following my posts even though I am so erratic with it all. It means a lot to me! I love Steemit and especially the people I have connected with on here.

Keep on Steemin on!



https://discord.gg/QU8ASsh

https://discord.gg/434kYZ

https://discord.gg/EGGCZuK


Sort:  

Hi @skycae! This post warms my heart, and not only because of the autumn colours ;) ... I love it when people treat chickens and other "food" animals with love <3 .. I am a curator for the You Got Snekked curation project and this is just to let you know that...:

You got SNEKKED! ;)
Expect a certain Snek to come 'round and give you a bite soon ;)

You Got Snekked is a curation project!
We aim to find good content, share a happy moment, & some visibility. Your post got our upvote, and we will feature your post and possibly an image from it in our 30th curation compilation if you don't mind! If you don't want to be featured, please let us know!

Also, feel welcome to join our community on Discord! -:

https://discord.gg/VWJxTEz

Haha thank you for stopping by! I dont think I could eat this chicken, he is special....

Hello @skycae, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

absolutely amazing Experiments With Watercolors.
I really like this picture.

BHAHAHAHAHHAAA that description of him trying to crow, I remember that sound well XD I described it to my eldest when he wandered in to see what I was cackling at and he also appreciated it XD

Lovely watercolour painting too, glad you were able to find the watercolours :)

Hahaha omg when I first heard it I was sort of concerned. Our older rooster that we just got is still figuring it out too, and he is a death metal chicken for sure lol. He screams more the crows. I always love when you leave a comment and a goat <3

They'll develop some awesome crows soon, and then start waking you up at the buttcrack of dawn XD In the meantime enjoy the hilarity that is their voices breaking ;D


Congratulations @skycae!
You raised your level and are now a Minnow!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84