Animals of Myth in the Folding Screens, Korea

in #art5 years ago

In this post, I’d like to introduce you the animals in myth.
The mysterious animals were very important to explain the spiritual view of the world not only in Korean traditional society but also in the Eastern Asia.

In this reason, there were lots of paintings left in the folding screens.
Each mythical animals had their own meaning.
Those animals expressed the ideal world of the Eastern Asia which was mainly from China.
Each imaginary animals had the good quality and virtue in their meaning, it looked dreadful though.

_C220899.JPG

_C220900.JPG

_C220901.JPG

_C220902.JPG

_C220903.JPG

_C220904.JPG

_C220905.JPG

_C220906.JPG

_C220908.JPG

Sort:  

Excellent photos really fantastic

This story was recommended by Steeve to its users and upvoted by one or more of them.

Check @steeveapp to learn more about Steeve, an AI-powered Steem interface.

Very beautiful thank you for sharing this

Wow, these are some lovely art pieces.

Maybe they were real.
Who knows?

Thank you for showing me those screens of Korean art. I was engaged in Chinese painting and I was interested to compare how similar these two types of painting. I see that the dragon and cranes were depicted as it is customary in Chinese painting. But other mythical animals are unfamiliar to me.

Well there are indeed myths in almost every culture and each of them does have some thoughts about those particular Myths but come to think of it these are indeed some mysterious animals. The names of them should be quite interesting as well I believe.

I love these kind of mythological paintings. I'm glad that you share them with us :).

I am always Amazed and I Learn something new everyday from your posts @slowwalker

호랑이에 뿔이 달려있는건 신기하네요.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66579.21
ETH 3282.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30