How I Learned to Draw Portraits

in #art6 years ago (edited)

It has been ages since I have created an artwork. Two main reasons: either I am not in the mood to do so or I just don’t have enough time to finish an artwork. I know some of you are wondering why “Portrait Artist” is being included in my blog description, when in fact, I haven’t posted a single portrait drawing since I’ve started my blogging journey here on Steemit.

Well, my initial plan apart from sharing my financial advocacy is sharing the steps and tips for making commissioned portraits. Unfortunately, I turned down several portrait requests when my workload seemed a bit more demanding than usual. Worse, I haven’t documented any portrait process documentation of my past portraits either.

Allow me to show you my previously-made commissioned portraits:

BeFunky Collage.png

My previously-made portraits

Since I was a child, I am fond of drawing cartoons and creating crafts. It is one of the main reasons why I chose to become a civil engineer. I cannot remember how this passion started but I carried it all my life. Though I have this artistic side, I never tried drawing or sketching faces, not until I was in my third year in college.

12.png

First portraits made using ordinary pencils

These are the very first portraits I made using an ordinary pencil. Would you believe that a huge heartbreak caused me to start working on portraits? Well, I don’t want to go into details about how I acquired such heartache but diverting my emotions and my time into Arts made me feel better during my moving on stage. Instead of burying myself into maoy moments, I found a way to better my artistic skills.

Guhit Pinas, a facebook group composed of aspiring Filipino artists also made a great contribution on how I acquired my skill in portraiture. This group isn't limited to great and pro artists alone. Newbies and frustrated artists are also welcome for mentorship, and I was one of the lucky artists to gain tips form the pro ones. Using the grid method in order to arrive with a more accurate facial proportion, I was able to make a bit realistic facial features.

12338856_921820167907905_1818572230_n.jpg

My first commissioned portrait

This is the very first commissioned portrait I made for a classmate who is too obsessed with Nam from a Thai movie A Little Thing Called Love. I never asked for anything monetary but my colleague insisted to pay 200 pesos (4 USD). That time, I was very reluctant to accept it since I believe my skills aren’t enough to receive such compensation.

123.png

My previously-made portraits using sketching pencils

Over time, I learned different techniques in portraiture. I also upgraded my materials from ordinary pencils to sketching pencils, and from ordinary paper to vellum board. This time, I became slightly confident to receive portrait request and I charged 200 pesos (4 USD) per portrait to aid myself financially during senior years in college. I normally finish one portrait ten or more hours straight. Can you imagine my struggles just to get that 200 pesos?

Until such time that I started using charcoal pencils. I find it very hard to manage at first but in every portrait that I make, I learn new tricks and techniques in smudging and proportioning.

1923723_1164676843549930_1789731401942486836_n.jpg

First time using charcoal pencils

This is the very first portrait that I considered as “human”. My cousin requested this portrait as a Christmas gift for herself way back 2015.

These are the other portraits I made using charcoal pencils:

dfgfg.png

Charcoal Portraits

dfdsf.png

Protrait request from a co-worker (May 2017)

The last time I worked on a commissioned charcoal portrait was May last year. I worked for about 20 hours or more for each portrait. I know, it is very time consuming but watching my clients exclaim with satisfaction made all the efforts paid off.

18380390_1846928148959496_1081091668389658624_n.jpg

Protrait request from a friend using soft pastels (May 2017)

In my pursuit to level up my skills in portraiture, I explored soft pastels in making this one. You guys have no idea how frustrated I was while making this one. Soft pastels are just unfit for portraits. I even considered it as a complete mess but fortunately, my client still liked it.

I don’t know when the spirit of motivation will visit me once again, but let me just extend my utmost respect to all traditional and digital artists out there. For years of struggles to perfecting your crafts, for those countless drafts and scratches out of frustrations, and for that passion and dedication to constantly improve your masterpieces.

To all aspiring artists out there, just keep doing your thing. All those efforts will pay off in no time.

Much love,

@smaeunabs

Sort:  

wow I never knew that you are this good. I am a frustrated artist when it comes to drawing face of people. Your drawing is almost realistic like I these are pictures and not drawings.

woaaaaaaaaaahhhhhh @kingxerxesdex, it's been a while, how are you na?

Thank you so much :D I know you can do it too :D Just use the grid method para mas accurate yung proportion :D

Hurot na akong bilib nimo @smaeunabs! Grabii <3
Buhati sad ko bii huhuhu

hahahahaha salamat sa support @truthsfinder! mahal na raba akong tf run HAHAHAHA

1k lang hahahahaha. What friends are for? :D

hahahahah sure? mudawat ragyud ko ana hahahha

Hahaha. Tarung bitaw? Kay magpabuhat gyud bitaw ko hahahaha

Wow! Super talented kaayo ka shiela! Bow down nako!!!

Thanks claring! <3 ikaw pud ay maka suya imong boses <3 hahahah

WOW!! You're so talented!! You really have a gift. <3

Nairok kos 200 pesos. grabeha. Pang 2k+ mana imo work. :)

yaaaaay ikaw pud Ree <3

hahahha lagi hangyoon pa gani sa uban ug 100 maong nka ingon gyud ko nga underrated kaayong mga artists sa pila ka tuig paghasa sa skills </3

wow ang galling naman.. gifted in all aspect.. pinagpala ka talaga.. d ako marunong mag drawing eh.. more on photography nman ako tsaka video editing.. sampong bagsak para sayo.. hehehe

yaaaay thank youuu so much jez! Oy in fairness ang ganda din ng mga shots mo ah <3

Congratulations @smaeunabs, your post have been featured at Best of PH Daily Featured Posts.
You may check the post here.


About @BestOfPH

We are a curation initiative that is driven to promote Filipino authors who
are producing quality and share-worthy contents on Steemit.

If you would like to delegate to Best of PH you can do so by clicking on the following links.

100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.

See Curation/Delegation Incentive Scheme here. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Follow our trail and vote for curated Pinoy authors. If you are a SteemAuto user, @bestofph is an available trail to follow.

If you want to be part of the community, join us on Discord

Thank you <3

whoah! seriously! I am amazed, dili lang d i ka financial advisor, artist pa jud waahh package na jud ka all in ...1 ahahah super nnniiiiiccceeee imung mga artworks!

Thank you sooo much @orhem <3333333

Taga Guhit Pinas member sad ko then pareha tang charcoal artist or graphite. Bitaw, struggle Kay bitaw maghimog portrait. Singhot oras kusog Ang nausik pero walay mahay inig human sa imong gihimo. Kana bitawng "sa wakas " Ang feeling. Worth it kayng kahago at the end. Sa Guhit Pinas, daghan kayng nakat.on og na.asenso tungod sa art. Makahatag silag tambag og mga tutorial nga makasabot rasad sa katawhan.

Nice Kay Ang nasulti nimo about artist.

haluuu @badzkie123 ang guhit pinas sad gyud bitaw ang usa sa nkpa motivate nako labaw natong mga imba na kaayo. Yaaaaay kita kos imong mga artworks, ga commissioned portait pud diay ka run, mao gyud baya ni nagbuhi sad nako pag college di ko kafeel sa kakapoy kay murag pas2 kaayo ang oras ug magdrawing hahahha

Haha lagi. Mao sad na buhaton nako Basta summer. May nalang pang allowance gamay. Dako gyud Kay tabang Ang Guhit Pinas group. 🤗🤗🤗

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted by the communal account, @steemph.cebu by smaeunabs being run at Teenvestors Cebu (Road to Financial Freedom Channel). This service is exclusive to Steemians following the Steemph.cebu trail at Steemauto. Thank you for following Steemph.cebu curation trail!

Don't forget to join Steem PH Discord Server, our Discord Server for Philippines.

waaah kamaayu uy! amazing hands!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64961.60
ETH 3103.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86