Egon Schiele - Getting inspired for some woodworksteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Hey Folks!

Last year I made a abstract wooden portrait. To get the final look I combined different types of wood e.g. beech, birch, walnut and cherry combined it with finishing oil and some colorful stain. Because of being always fascinated by the work of Egon Schiele and being confronted with his work during my bachelor thesis, I got influenced by one of his artworks during my process of creativity.

The artwork I mentioned above is:

larger.jpg
Self portrait with raised bare shoulder - Egon Schiele (1912)

Before I started to work on the wooden parts, I made a fast sketch to get the beautifully painted portrait in a more abstract composition. That's the result:

IMG_3129.jpg

At first I glued and planed a mainboard using beech and birch and cut the form at a bandsaw. The next few pictures visualize the handmade process of forming and integrating the inlays (walnut and cherry) into the mainboard (beech and birch).

()

photo_2017-12-12_22-01-42.jpg

Finally, after finishing the inlays, I turned some wood to make something like an eyeball (beech and cherry). The eyeball and the bottom lip are not planed to the same height like the rest of the surface to get some "3d highlights".
For the finishing process I used a sanding machine to make it nice and smooth and at the end I added finishing oil.

IMG_8249.jpg

Hope you like my small experiment! Looking forward to get some feedback. :)
Best regards,
snattle.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84