My SpiderMan pen sketch.

in #art6 years ago

Some days ago I joined an art contest and lost to a digital artwork. I was so pained because I gave that drawing my best and I thought I was going to win until some hours to deadline, Some made entries into the contest with digital artworks.
I was so pained and I kinda felt like blame Nigeria for having a poor electricity power supply. We had a blackout for straight two weeks. If only there was electricity then, I could have made a digital entry too or maybe colour my sketch with photoshop. On the other hand, I felt like my pen sketch wasn't good enough instead of looking for what or who to blame for my failure

Well, It kinda motivated me a lot. I picked up my pencil and pen again then when back to drawing. This time around I was so determined to draw something that will get people wondering if it's really a pencil sketch or digital artwork. Something that will look too good to be a pen drawing.

spiderm.jpg

One of the advice I got from a friend is to choose something I love and keep on drawing it over and over again until I get used to it. So I decided to go with my favour comic characters which are Spiderman and Deadpool. I just love them for their craziness and humour. For now, I am just going with spiderman only.

Here are the fundamental steps I took in drawing it

35439714_241763309931871_2261259165622075392_n.jpg

I made my pencil rough sketch of Spiderman, drew out the figure with a pencil so I can easily correct any mistake before I inked it with a pen.
35483274_241764619931740_2501517699130064896_n.jpg
I went ahead to sketch out the building structures in the city, the webs and a sack with coins flowing out of it.
spiderm.jpg
Then I went ahead to draw up the buildings, ink the road, finish up the body, shade and hatch everything...

I know its still not comparable to a digital drawing but I will keep on drawing SpiderMan in the different pose until I get perfect at it. I am not yet done with that drawing, I am thinking of painting it and drawing some symbols on those coins.
Wait for it...
Here is old another spiderman sketch i drew sometime ago
35329804_241765406598328_2278180885796749312_n.jpg

Sort:  

Those are great, capturing what you love. I just wish I had a portion of your talent, but I don't. I would end up with it looking like some kind of chibi, and have to pretend that's what I intended it to look like.
A word of advice on not winning, it's going to happen. Use it, I like what you did with this, you just kept drawing. Perfecting an art form doesn't happen over night. It takes practice, just keep going. Then one day something clicks and you realize that you didn't even have to think about what you were doing, it just came naturally. That's when the real magic starts to happen.

Thanks for the tips... I just hate losing... If its for drawing, With or without payouts, i will keep on drawing. Besides i am okay with steemit. Better than other social media where i get nothing at all for posting my works

Good spidey ! Love the pose and the inking is nicely done <3 Also, the step by step is neat !!!

If i am correct, you also won in the neoxian contest... Do you get mentioned whenever somebody post a spiderman drawing on steemit? xD

I won second place, and hahahaha i guess i have spidey sense tingling when there is a spidey art on steemit??? :D

At that moment i kinda hated you and @scrawly for knowing how to draw... lolzzz...

awwwwwww

im sure you will win loads of contests in the future :D !!! you draw so well !!!

Whoa whoa, don't hate me please T_T.

I think your art is great, and I have a lot of respect for people who can draw on paper. I believe a lot of people also prefer traditional artists than digital ones, I even heard that some people won't take digital art seriously because they think the computer makes them.

Anyway, I enjoy your spidey fanarts. And I also like Deadpool :).

Lol... I was just kidding man... @scrawly you are very talented and creative and i am happy for you. but to be honest, I would have been happier if i won. xD

I totally understand hahaha.

You've got great drawing skills!

Thanks man but I love comedy more than art... Altho i lack comedy skills... which you have...

I love spiderman and your drawing is no exception! You could do a few panels yourself!

I don't know much about art except that I like looking at it, but I do know something about life. Forget the blame and just keep drawing (or doing your thing). You win some, you lose some as they say. Just keep your head up and your pencil to paper and you will be ahead of 99.9% of people. Now, maybe there will always be someone who has a quantum computer who can do it 'better', but who cares? You got better everyday!

Blessings :)

Thanks for the encouragement... Competing with computer, using my barehands... I cant think of any better way to get better everyday... Less i forget, I am happy someone out there likes my work

Cheers mate! I really do, I wouldn't mind seeing an original strip, even just a bit of motion to start.

We each can only be the best us's that we can be!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Very talented . Well done

I think your sketches are awesome and are nowhere near comparison to digital in my opinion because that is where true art lies. Within your hand skills to make such a perfect image. Digital is too techy. Keep it up, that is something to be proud of!

You always think I am good at anything i do. Comedy, art... Thanks for the encouragement thou. It been long you commented on my post. Although i dont think i have ever commented on yours... My bad

Well it seems that I am a fan :p
I am not seeing you too often since I haven't been around. Summer days are quite busy for me. But I am back in the business and good to go ^_^ You should be seeing more of me now.
Don't feel bad about not commenting. It isn't always tit for tat. I am just happy that you take the time to reply to my comment xx

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Sparrowbernard from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

so nicely done..this is so awesome

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66765.98
ETH 3234.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23