Walthrough on two photorealistic artworks I just made.

in #art6 years ago

Hello steemers. Welcome again to another walkthrough on these photorealistic drawings I made recently. I hope this post met you all in a great jolly mood. Please put on your Art cap,hop in my ride and fasten your seatbelt on this walkthrough. I hope you guys find something to pick out of this post.. Artistically.
image
Sunday afternoon, I received a call from the elder brother of a friend asking me to show up at his place for two art jobs. I was exhausted from playing the drums at church but someone has to draw for me to earn a few thousands. I sprang up from bed and raced down to his house. Turned out he wanted to draw two of my oldest friends. We fixed a price (I reduced my charge ridiculously because these guys are childhood friends). They were moving into a new place and wanted To decorate the place with artworks of them. I set to work asking for 8days to complete both works.

STEP 1.

Since I'll be making two drawings at 12inches by 16inches each... I plastered a full cardboard and measured two 12/16inches space on it. Then get to work on drawing my grids on it.

image
Why I use grid

Grid helps me to be very precise about the placement of figures and strokes when drawing to bring out the best resemblance. This isn't actually the easy way out.

STEP 2.

I begin to outline both guys face into the grids. This is a very slow process as all the boxes should be clearly followed and marked. A single mistake when drawing from a box to another can ruin your drawing if you don't notice it soon enough.
image

STEP 3

As you all know me well to do, I'll always start any drawing I'm making from the top (which is most times always the head). My plan here is to draw the first guy completely before drawing the other guy. Care needs to be taken here because smudging graphite on the other empty section for the other guy can be fatal and lead to waste of paper and effort.

image
image
image
image
image
image

Why I drew the face first before drawing the hair.

The hair is One of the darkest part of the drawing. Drawing it first can lead to me smudging graphite from the hair to lighter areas when blending graphite close to it.

STEP 4.

**I round off the first guy and quickly move to the next guy. Im sorry I couldn't take enough progress shots of the second drawing as I wasn't around opportune to since I was behind schedule. I had to rush all through to get it done that taking pictures sipped out of my head.

image
image
image

I repeated the same process for this drawing though. From the face... To the hair then to neck and body.**

STEP 5

This my favourite part when it comes to drawing. Framing. The artwork jumps out better when I get them framed. I dropped the works at the workshop where they are put into frames and left for some other duties. By the time i came back.. The works have been framed with people already taking pictures of it. Some even requested to take selfies with me and the works. It was very thrilling to actually see Nigerians appreciating artworks this much. Which is something rare.
image

Here is a shot of some spectators.
image

STEP 7

After successfully framing, I went ahead to deliver the artworks to my friends who have been expectant. They were so thrilled to have it and honestly speaking.... They had already pegged two nails to the wall to hang the drawings. They were just so happy. Soon I asked that the works be taken down so we could take some pictures with it.

image image
image

Here is a personal picture I took with the artworks.
image

MATERIALS USED.

I used just a 6b graphite Lilly pencil to draw both. Lightly applying the pencil on lighter areas.
I also use just the conventional tissue paper to blend and blur the surfaces of the work.
Then normal cardboard paper.

I hope you all enjoyed this post as much as i enjoyed drawing these works.

Support #StephensArt by upvoting and commenting.
Do let me know what you think about these works.

Thank you. Have a nice day. Keep steeming and have fun.
Cheers

image
image

Sort:  

Great render skills!

Thanks swearngin. I hope you're doing fine today

Wow this is amazingly realistic!

Thanks for rhe really nice review brother

@stephennevets, I must confess you are the best, studying the steps you wrote has made me want to feel myself that have got something in me, thanks for the light up.

Wow.. Thank you Emmanuel. Really nice words your out out there for me.

If you have art buried in you. Its my job to pull it out of you ya know? Lol.

Thank you again

Wow amazing skills. Would love to follow you!
Do check out my new post as well.
https://steemit.com/poem/@timesedge/intution-original-poetry

Regards,
Ana

Thanks Ana.

I'll be checking out your new post

Congratulations @stephennevets, this post is the second most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Newbie account holder (accounts that hold between 0.01 and 0.1 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by newbie account holders during this period was 3389 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $1853.60. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

You are a true artist, Congratulations!!! @stephennevets

Thank you chandy. Following you right away

Wow, your pictures are amazing. :)

Woah. Thank you nesni.

How are you doing today

All i can say..is that you are very tallented..you should do something in your life !! :)

Thanks Azen.

Aye... I will.

Top of the weather to you Azen

I have always believed in you. Good choice you made bringing your talent to steemit

You've always had my back since I got in here brother. I can't appreciate you enough for your tremendous help. You're gold.

Please take over steemit

Greetings. We would like to reward you for your excellent contribution to the Steemit community with a TROPHY TOKEN! Please reply with your Bitshares address or contact us on Discord @TrophyToken.
trophy4.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11