"Cipher of the Mind" Original Artwork

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemit!

Today I would like to introduce you to the latest work of mine. At first, it started as a sketch, while I was in the university one day bored as fuck. It took me around 90 hours and to finish this piece of mine.

The digital work is all recorded on stream via @Dlive. It was really fun to draw and paint that thing. To be honest, somewhere in the middle of all of this i was lost, didn't know what or how to build and paint it. I took a break from it, working on another project and some drawings. When i came back i saw all my mistakes and what i had to do in order to fix them.
Anyways, here it is:

version 1 graphiute low.jpg

Click here to see the image in full resolution

Details


The graphite drawing:

Reaper1.jpg

And after over 90 hours, 280 layers, 1,3GB workfile size later, the animation. Layer by layer

version-1-graphiute---Copy-Recovered.gif

Sorry about the quality of the gif, but the frames are over 1040 so i had to reduce the quality in order to be able to upload it

You can find all the video footage here


Tools used: From 1H to 8B Mechanical graphite pencils; 80g A4 sheet of printing paper; Wacom Intuos pen small and photoshop cc2018

Thanks to all that joined the stream and helped me go through all the hours

quasar pulsar stardust material
made up of the same from the cores we ethereal
space royalty imperial born from a nebula
never a question man you can't explain that
cuz the tides still move in these vinyl grooves
and the digital alternative go solid state
and innately we all remain stately ambassadors
to a cluster of nerves in our brains

Sort:  

Really great look. Giger-esque but with your own style. I totally want it to be an album cover.

Thank you!
It would be really cool to see that piece on the market.

Friend really impressive, I try to make digital art also I would like some tips from you, if you want to visit some of my post and so you can teach me. When I grow up I want to draw like your haha.

I'm not the best example to learn from. But if you want to get in the room, I can show you the door. :)
Phh the digital drawing is just a tool, you can apply the same skills and knowledge that you have for drawing on paper or canvas to it. The key to it is to study the fundamentals. How a silhouette, shape, light, and values work. After that, you need to learn color theory and then, composition.
For start i can show you this. This is a tutorial playlist by one of the best in the craft. Scroll down to the first video and start from there, after that you can look for Anthony Jones. That dude is godlike! But yeah. Grind the fundamentals, anatomy. The rendering is just patience. The sketch is where everything starts. If you set it up right, everything will be alright. If you screw it up it up, in the process the mistakes will start to pop up and it's harder to fix a half- done painting than a sketch.

Hey svdsdragunov, that is a great artwork you did here, you have earned an upvote from me ! Did you know about the latest addition to the steem blockchain ? It’s called Artisteem and as you may have guess from the name it is focus around art, you should really check it out ! (http://www.artisteem.com/)

Thank you!
how does it work, can you explain real quick cause right now I have no time at all to research it.
Cheers mate!

No worries, basicly that is a platform similar to steemit using the steem reward system but focus on artists and art fans. We also organize various art contest (with rewards for the winners).
Ultimately the goal is to provide a platform where artists can strive, sell their work and generally be really valued for their talent.
Right now the platform is new but you can already sign in using your steemit account and share your content there. It would be awesome to see your work there.
Cheers

That's really cool. Does it post it on your steemit wall too, when you post it on Artisteem?

Yes it does, any post on artisteem will automaticly be posted on your steemit wall so you get double exposure. Both the steemit users and the artisteem users will see your post.

Interesting, I will try it out. The problem is that I want to upload my older stuff in your platform too, but I don't want to spam all the people that already saw my stuff here, is there a way to get around that thing? It would be really cool option to be able to have the choice if you want to share it on Steemit too. Like on Artstation for example, you can pick if you want to share in other social media when you publish something. I will definitely try it.

That is a good point, maybe we will implement that feature in the future. I'm sorry it is not possible for now.
At least it will not be a problem for your future content.
Regarding your old content I understand that you don't want your steemit followers to see things all over again.
I'm glad that you like the idea, artisteem was created for artists like you after all.
I am trying my best to share the words since I personally believe that there is only advantages for artists, especially the ones already having a steemit account.
If you know artists on steemit you can let them know, I think a lot of people just distrust me because I have artisteem as my name haha

I will definitely show it to people that are worth watching. People that provide great work and can teach us something.
Oh yeah, I was double checking on you. :D That's normal, it's the blockchain after all. Everyone is on their own.
If it's good, people will recognize it. For the most part, that law works :D
Do you guys have discord or something like that, where we can connect with you with questions and suggestions?

I love it. Result is very good. It is representing a science fiction world.

Thank you!
This is a genre that... Tells the future... At least that's how i feel about it.

Let no one say that boredom cannot be productive! Nice piece!

Thank you!
What do you mean with boredom? Are you bored when you write your songs?

Congratulations @svdsdragunov! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Final results coming soon

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Wow. That’s an arresting image. It really draws you in.

I try to do that with every painting. Thank you! :)

Hi svdsdragunov,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you very much! I am really happy that you like my work!

Artwork like this is the reason I look at the art section in steemit. Good work.

Thank you mate! I appreciate it very much!

You are continuing to amaze me more and more. I hope you will get more recognition.

Thank you! We just have to be patient, opportunities are prey for the patient hunters. :) I just study the craft.

I get you. I am learning to do both as much as possible for the most part. :)

Great, keep your self on the grindstone mate!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66363.68
ETH 3207.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27