Batman (with process)

in #art6 years ago

Hello Steemit! Another step on my road to Gotham, figured I’d share process as I am still getting the hang of the iPad.

The first step was laying out the composition of the piece. I used a few different colors to help separate the depth of field a bit. Batman is typically shown in the city, seems like it’d be fun to draw him patrolling a park, doing the brooding contemplative bit in some trees.

77C12E7E-0554-42E5-B23A-9FABAFB577A8.jpeg

I knew from the get go that I’d be taking this piece to color, but that’s no excuse to slack on the linework. I always want to make sure that a piece can stand on its own without color. I also thinned out the chin a bit, adjusted the points on the cowl and added a bit of a collar to the cape.

7DF51EBB-9060-4671-91E7-8A3BBA0FC63C.jpeg

Finally it was time for color. I’ve always been a fan of how Dave Stewart managed to do so much with such simple pallets: and with that in mind I kept the colors on this one pretty simple. Basically with the idea that if I were to make a screen print of this it wouldn’t take more than five layers or so.

4237D35F-5B38-460B-97E1-AF853C30F867.jpeg

That’s pretty much that! Hope yall enjoyed!

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Nice love it. Had to follow and upvote. Keep them coming

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations @swarddraws! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Beautiful work, @swarddraws ! I love the finished version, with its limited palette <3 It really captures a very strong batman comic panel feel <3 And the step by step is also super nicely presented <3 <3 <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75