Learn To Knit With @sweetpea : Heart-Shaped Plushies

in #art6 years ago

It's been a while since my last entry, my little guy has been a tad ill, so he's had my full attention while on the mend. He's happy and healthy now however and I have had some free time to try out new knitting projects. My favorite little items I got into knitting this weekend are these sweet little plush hearts! I was looking for something to add to a gift I am putting together for a friend who recently had a baby and I though these soft little heart shapes would make a lovely decorative addition to her nursery. 

These hearts are super easy to knit and super quick too! This is an awesome project to work on if you are looking for ways to use up bits and pieces of yarn that you have left over (even really small bits can be used for the stuffing).

HEART PLUSHIES


Images by @sweetpea

These heart-shaped pillows can be used for a plethora of things: you can use them as decor items for a room, string them together to make bunting, make a mobile for your baby, use them as magnets and brooches and you can even fill them with potpourri or lavender and use them as little drawer refreshers. You could also add some crinkly paper to the stuffing or some large beans to make sensory toys for babies. The ideas are endless!

LEARN HOW TO MAKE YOUR OWN KNITTED HEART


To make your very own stuffed hearts you will need to know how to do the following stitches:

You will need the following materials:

  • A pair of needles, size depending on your yarn
  • Yarn
  • Scissors
  • Sewing needle

This pattern is courtesy of studioknits.com

THE PATTERN

  • Cast On 3 stitches

1. Knit Row
2. KFB, P1, KFB (5 stitches)
3. Knit Row
4. KFB, P3, KFB (7 sts)
5. Knit Row

Snip your yarn and move the first hump of your heart down your needle.

REPEAT ROWS 1 – 5 TO MAKE YOUR SECOND HUMP 

With both humps on the same needle, knit the next 14 stitches AS FOLLOWS:

You will repeat this pattern so that you have two heart shapes, which you then need to sew together. To sew them up, make sure the right sides are facing. Leave a hole to push stuffing through. Now turn it inside out, fill with stuffing and secure your hole. 

Images by @sweetpea



Thank you for taking the time to knit with me! If you are just here for a read, thanks for stopping by, perhaps I have given you some encouragement to start a knitting project of your own in the future! If you are new to the series of Learning To Knit With @sweetpea, you can find more of my tutorials and patterns listed below: 

 01 - Learn To Knit: Matching Yarn And Needle Sizes 

02 - Learn To Knit: That First Stitch

03 - Learn To Knit: Casting On The First Row Of Stitches

04 - Learn How To Knit With @sweetpea: The Knit Stitch (Garter Stitch)

05 - Learn How To Knit With @sweetpea: The Purl Stitch (Stocking Stitch)

06 - Learn To Knit With @sweetpea: Decreasing Stitches (SSK)

07 - Learn To Knit With @sweetpea: Increasing Stitches (Inc 1)

08 - Learn To Knit With @sweetpea: Increasing Stitches Purlwise (M1 Pw)

09 - Learn To Knit With Sweetpea: The Yarn Over/Forward Stitch (Used For Button Holes And Lace Patterns)

10 - Learn How To Knit With @sweetpea: Three-Needle Bind-Off

11 - Learn To Knit With @sweetpea: Circular Knitting    

PATTERNS by @sweetpea:



Much love - @sweetpea

(bringing you original content)

Join us @steemitbloggers

Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

Sorry to hear the little one is sick. That's never fun and I bet you've been worried about him. I like the little hearts. You could also maybe stuff them with potpourri and put them in a dish on a shelf so they'll make a room smell good while displaying a cute decoration.

Oh yes, some lavender maybe :) We are home again today actually, last night he had bad tummy cramps and almost no sleep...so we are about to climb back into bed and sleep the day away!

I am glad to hear your little monster is feeling better. These hearts are so pretty. I love that you included the pattern too.

Thanks, I love sharing patterns, always in the hopes that someone will work on a similar knitting project too :)

Yeah These heart- shaped plushies will definitely make the mama to be so happy. Really glad your kid is better now. He would be on edge and you would be on edge so its good he's alright. Your procedures are so easy to follow. Although I don't really knit tho nut thanks for putting it up

Thanks for the compliment :) maybe one day you will give knitting a try! We had a bad night's sleep so kiddo and I are at home, again! But getting ready for a good rest to regain our (my) sanity.

Hi. Thank you for sharing the steps. I understood very well. I like knitting hearts. How nice read your little son is feeling better. Here I leave you the last hearts that decorated a cake.

That is so beautiful! Such a brilliant idea!

I love these! There was a time when I was so obsessed with them that I had them everywhere, a full house. :) I fill them with lavender usually or by cotton wool.

Lol, I think that is me at the moment. Guess what everyone is getting for Christmas this year!

Cute little pattern , thank you for sharing. I will definitly try this out. I can imagine such a heart as an application on a sweater <3 <3
Good to hear your son is feeling better and you have a little time for yourself.

Yes, it would look LOVELY on a sweater, or even sewn onto jeans! Thanks for the excellent idea :)

Glad the little one is feeling better! Understand that they get full attention.

Thank you @basicstoliving yup, my little man always wants my full attention when ill.

I hope everything's okay now @sweetpea... I will be making this pattern really soon - thank you ! 😊

Wow. It looks cute. Thank you for sharing the method.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.40
ETH 3576.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75