Back to My Art Material's Arms... <3 A Step by step coloring of my Hiruma Yoichi Fanart <3

in #art5 years ago


It's Valentines! And because of that, I decided to go back to the arms of my love, my art materials. Just a couple days ago, I got the urge to sketch one of my favorite anime character from Eyeshield 21, which is Hiruma Yoichi. You can read my previous blog about sketching the said fanart HERE.

This first step means a lot to me. I haven't drawn anything for quite some time, so finally I'm back! I didn't realize how I'd miss this. There's this special feeling you get when you create an artwork. Every step is special... and as you get to see the progress or result gradually, the excitement increases as well.

So, here's what I finished today...





Let me show you a step-by-step procedure as to how I colored it, as well as the various colors that I used for the said fanart. Below, is the finished sketch which I shared in my previous blog post.




As for coloring, I used my Faber-Castell Watercolor Pencils. I didn't ink the sketch and simply played with the colors. I wasn't very particular with the lines and stuff. What I did was simply enjoy the feeling which I almost forgot.























All in all, I used seven various colors. I started with the skin color, earrings, eyes and teeth, hair, and then, final touches. Below is the final colored fanart using watercolor pencils.








Excuse my haggard face and huge eye bags. hahaha~ I like how the drawing looked, but I wanted to blend in the colors more by using water and paintbrush. Actually, I was in two minds since the paper where I drew the artwork is just for sketching. But yeah, I still continued with it. I used this watercolor brush in blending.





I really like using this brush especially when I'm using watercolor pencils, because I can control the amount of water I use in blending. Also, it's not as messy as using the usual paintbrush and water in a container or so. It's also easy to get rid of the excess paint from it, before using it in another part. Here's the final result of my fanart.





The colors look more vibrant and blended now. Though it's not as beautiful if I were to use watercolor paper, but it's not bad at all. I'm really happy that I get to touch my art materials again. I hope this inspiration to make fanarts and other stuff goes on in the days to come. <3 I will have to insert it in my schedule... hihihi~

I hope you like my work. Thank you so much for checking it out. Take care and see you again! (^_^)/

Sort:  

I’m so happy to see you drawing!
I need to get back to drawing as well haha I’ve been lazy.

Thank you so much, sis... ^^
I'm glad to be back. :) I was scared of forgetting how to draw, so to prevent further frustration, I decided to do it again. :)
I see your cat drawings and pattern arts... you're doing well with digiarts, too... <3

You got a 3.83% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @tegoshei! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 24 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70112.96
ETH 3549.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71