Skull oil painting on wood: step by step

in #art6 years ago

skull1.jpg
I recently finished a series of oil paintings on 5"x 5" 3/4inch thick round pieces of wood. I managed to photograph some different steps along the way for this one.

I started with a pencil drawing on the wood based on a photo I took and then did a rough underpainting in burnt sienna and a little ivory black to figure out the values.

skull5.jpg

After it dried I did layers of thinned down oil glazes over each other until it reached my desired look.

skull4.jpg

skull3.jpg

skull2.jpg

skull1.jpg

Prior to working on this series I had only used oils alla prima style with wet on wet blending but I really enjoyed trying out glazes and layering.

Sort:  

Awesome painting ! :) Maybe you'd like my latest post. Its an art contest with a cash prize. Would love if you joined! You have some real talent. https://steemit.com/art/@leminhead/christmas-drawing-contest

Wow, I wish I could make something like that. Will we see it on steembay?

Thanks! What is steembay?

It is an auction bot for steem wehre you can sell items against SBD.

Again great post.

this is so cool! definately following you for some more cool posts

Congratulations @terrorfirma, this post is the second most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Dust account holder (accounts that hold between 0 and 0.01 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Dust account holders during this period was 3145 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $758.70. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Thanks, this is Interesting. Good to know!

Congratulations, your post received one of the top 10 most powerful upvotes in the last 12 hours. You received an upvote from @hendrikdegrote valued at 66.28 SBD, based on the pending payout at the time the data was extracted.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, reply with the word "stop".

Great post and fantastic piece of art... love it!
Curious for more so I'm following now...

Cheers!

Thank you! Tons more to come!

really really amazing painting

Thank you so much :)

Thank you, very nice post, beautifully presented and explained. Detail oriented with nice pics. thank you for sharing this with us, Upvoted ...

I play disc golf, and the "frisbees" are about that size. If you could recreate something like this, or even make an original, on one of my discs, id be more than happy to pay what you think it's worth! Obviously the paints/process would be entirely different, but your artwork is fantastic!

Thanks so much! I do plan on possibly offering my services in some expanded way but not quite there yet. I will keep this in mind though!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16