Art - Drawing NOZER, original villain (steps included) tutorial

in #art6 years ago

Helo Steemit neighbors!

Today I made an original design for a made up villain while drawing popular pop culture character. There are times when you start sketching, and sketch and sketch, but you something quite different from the first thing you imagined. My advice is to engage in it and make something original with your own stamp on it!

I came up with this, calling him NOZER, this is a nemesis brawler villain type of design. Strong evil character with a background story yet to come. All I know is that he should be quite disrespectful with a strong attitude and a masterful philosophy behind his evil doing. Something people could relate to, dunno, example is Bane from Nolan's dark knight saga, something like that. Here he is:

08.jpg

That's the final piece, spent a lot of time on this one, since I got ill then slacked a lot with the detailed drawings since I did not have any inspiration at all. But now when I'm fine all goes a lot better I guess. So here is the process in a gif format, after that I will walk you trough all of the steps:

As you can see all of it started as a sketch for a famous Marvel superhero named Wolverine, but at some moment I decided to make my own character and stray from the first Idea.

All was done digitally in Photoshop on a personal computer with a help of my good friend cheap drawing pad, considering to stay on it even if I find enough money to buy some sick stuff :D

Here is the detailed process of making this one:

01.jpg

At first I started sketching wolverine, just simple plain sketch to see how it goes

02.jpg

Here I continued sketching and removed the cigarette since it was in wrong perspective and did not fit well

03.jpg

After some time sketching it and making different approaches I figured I'd design my own character and removed a lot of stuff and went in hard with the dark lines and more finesse

04.jpg

In this step I had a clear picture of what I want to illustrate, had a lot of ideas and went into details, shadows and hard lines

05.jpg

Here i finalized them lines, spent a great amount of time on this but I guess it payed out, the result is really detailed and ready for coloring

06.jpg

First line of color added here, still figuring out the final colors but these are here to be a placeholder for the next step

07.jpg

Again, spent a bunch of time on this one, working on shadows and lights to make a character more realistic but still in a hard comic book grunge kind of way, stuff that I like doing

08.jpg

The longest phase is here,l working in aligning the colors, adding details, working with lighting and background, making small pieces of simple yet effective color drops, working with transparent layers and putting my signature on

Okay, so that's it people! Hope you like this journey, it was tough but rewarding as the finished product is what I wanted to achieve. There are times when I do not eat, drink or sleep when I go into the drawing mood, I just separate myself from the world and swim in the zone.

Some would say, vote, share, subscribe, and they are right :D

Have a wonderful day! Thank you for your time!

Sort:  

I love the textures of the skin and the brightness of the eyes. Each part of your illustration is very well done, the shadows, gradient and color combination. What I like most about your post, is that you explained step by step how you did it, I think it is very important and it serves as help for other people who do the same kind of work. Thanks for sharing, regards.

Thanks, you really went into the details, I found it awesome when people spend a bit of time looking trough a post. Thank you for your support!

Hi theartofrez,

Your post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Keep creating awesome stuff! Have a great day :)

LEARN MORE: Join Curie on Discord chat and check the pinned notes (pushpin icon, upper right) for Curie Whitepaper, FAQ and most recent guidelines.

Wow, Awesome! I really appreciate your time and consideration. Thanks!

Thanks!

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72