Art - Drawing Thoughts and Self-portraits - (step by step)

in #art5 years ago

Thinking trough stuff

thumb.jpg

Hello!

Drew some kind of self portrait from the head, without looking at the mirror or stuff, it may not be me, my beard is better I guess :D It was an experiment about my feelings and current mood I am in.

Whole art:

05.jpg

It's kinda part sad, part inspired and determined, part inspired idea breaking and plan building piece of illustration that is very connected to me in various ways.

The walking part is kinda changes that I am going trough at this point, the struggle for art projects, finding a job, walking towards opportunities with a strong but still damaged attitude.

The spiders in my beard represent the laziness, my apartment is kinda messy at the moment and I realize that that's the representation of financial problems piling up, apartment bills, worrying if they will cut the power :D Kinda gets to you

The cigarette is the part that I want to point out, leaving smoke behind, thinking about quitting because of health and guess, it's gonna be tough, I did not try it until maybe these days, because I tend to be true about my self promises and do it right, maybe the time has come to be ready.

And then there, in all that dark comes the idea, why write a blog, why not illustrate it all, go trough the lines, make a statement of sorts trough the art and go on, push forward! But I had to be sincere and avoid drawing all positive shit, nope. This is the truth, will be better,and I appreciate the strength to be this open.

Drew it all in Photoshop, digitally, using a drawing pad

Here is the process:

01.jpg

This is a base sketch, I think this one represents me more than the others, it resembles the face and all the most, but the, had to funk it up with everything after this step.

02.jpg

Adding those important details here, figuring out the form. Going hard and heavy with the lines, not holding back, what it becomes is just pure emotion at this moment, did not want to fake it and erase it so it would look better and stuff, just the flow, pure flow here.

03.jpg

Went hard on the beard, made me look messier than I am :D Was making pancakes and drawing in the pauses, hitting on those lines like I was slicing something up.

04.jpg

Added a base color here and there was a lot of line work too, making some areas darker, some lighter, working with the shadows, color base, randomizing, adding and adding until the satisfaction was kinda real. Did not want to overclolor it, since this is me at the moment, not that flashy at all, more focused, trying to find that colorful moments, work on myself.

05.jpg

And here, THE IDEA was born! That was the final hit, the one punch I waited to add since the strikes of the first lines. That lil light bulb is the reason for all of this! :D

Hope you found this interesting, amusing, maybe helpful, would like so much if any of those were there.

Thanks a lot, there is a huuuuuuuuuuuuuuuge number of awesome people here. There was a lot of talk on my previous illustration and all of it inspired me to do this one. YOU ARE AWESOME! It is a thrill to share stuff with you and to tell you the truth a lot of those comments quite moved me you wonderful people!

I am a comic book artist and geek from Serbia, doing illustration work for 15 years now, really enjoying it!

My IG: https://www.instagram.com/the_art_of_rez/

Sort:  

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 7 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 7 SBD worth and should receive 135 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Awesome drawing

Posted using Partiko iOS


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Heey this is beautiful, so soft and delicate!
this post will be proposed to be curated by the @celfmagazine project

Thank you so much!

Very cool picture, Rez ! Love the style and the step by step is fantastic !!!

Thank you! Went with a different approach a bit, glad you like it!

Great portrait. I like that you added personal touch to it. Those spiders hanging from your beard are cute but you should try to clean all the mess that needs to be cleaned :) The light bulb is as cool as this idea. I'm not such a fan of the smoking part but I hope that one day you will manage to quit :)

I agree with all the stuff you sad, cleaned up my apartment, it's so shiny and nice now, working on myself too, gonna trim the beard :D :D

Congratulations @theartofrez! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 50 replies. Your next target is to reach 100 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64498.18
ETH 3079.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86