Street art galore in Medellin

in #art6 years ago

Anything is almost considered to be a blank canvas to many/all artists in Medellin, which is one of my favourite aspects to this beautiful city. From any and every wall, to front of houses, doors and even a run down motorcycle that was sitting in front of a small cafe in Comuna 13. It gives this community a surreal emotional environment, which talks about the struggles and hope that live deep within the roots of all its people.


IMG_0413.jpg
A random piece of stunning colourful art in an ice-cream store ~ love it!!
Click image to view full size


However, one area that seems to be completely off limits to any street art is their public transportation, also known as, El Metro. The El Metro is highly regarded as one of the most important aspects for their movement away from violence. It provided a highly efficient and cheap way for people from all over the city to travel easily and cheaply in order to find work and provide for their families. If you ever jump on the el metro on your next adventure to Medellin, look around for any graffiti or street art, I guarantee you will not find a single mark, which highlights the pride and importance of this transportation.


IMG_0368.jpg
The colour street art is everywhere!!!
Click image to view full size


Thanks for reading and all the support, Steemit!!

Dont forget to Upvote & Resteem!!!

All stories & photographs are of my own work unless noted under the picture in question.

For more stories and photos check out my Instagram feed

Check out my website new website too - Just BCOZ Photography

Sort:  

The artwork of the first pic is really amazing. Very colorful and eye catching. Art and craft must really be a thriving business in the city since most of its walls are well decorated with artwork. The view is kinda eye catching

I can say the ice cream is delicious and well worth the stop if you ever jump on a Comuna 13 free guided tour in Medellin. Also, a lot of business have similar art all over their walls

Wow, that must be a very cool place. Enjoy your time there while it lasts

I also love Medellin looks like an outdoor art museum, it's a beauty

I agree!! absolutely beautiful city

My favourite city in Colombia!

Mine too... so far - I do have a bit more to explore over the next month and a bit

What a beauty of mural, I have been told that Medellin is beautiful for its art, I do not know it although I am from Venezuela, I congratulate you

it truly is! I encourage you to explore this city for yourself.

It is magical realism what is lived in Medellin, it is a beautiful experience to recover its streets and meet its people so happy and warm

It has been my favourite city so far in Colombia

I love the mural that says vida, it seems to speak for all the people of Medellin

Its a reminder of what has happened in the past with the violence and a constant sense of hope & strength. just stunning. Sobre vivimos ~ We survive

Its so good to see the streets painted up! Looks like some good artists holding it down in medellin.

There are a lot of talented artists that have done amazing work in these streets. Some local and some international

fully voted for nice post.

Thanks a heap! I appreciate the support

It's very beautiful picture and I really appreciate your excellent art photographe.

Thanks! I greatly appreciate the support

The artists of that community are very lucky to have a community that supports their street art. In the States, most places would deem uncommissioned street art as vandalism and the artists could be arrested if caught. Moreover, the municipalities will just remove the artwork or paint over it.

colour and beautiful artistic expression is always better than a blank wall in a city full of blank, monotone walls...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28