Brand new sculpture: 'Delphine'

in #art6 years ago

I managed to finish 'Delphine' today. Up untill the last moment, I did not know exactly what to do with the head. Keep it simple, make it more elaborate? In the end, it kind of made sense to add some hair and I'm quite happy with the result.

delphine4.jpg

As I mentioned in my previous post, she's not the warrior type I usually make. I think that with 'Esmée' last December, I ventured in another direction of more feminine sculptures. These may also appeal to a broader audience, although I guess with the 'horror'-elements as some people call it, they'll never be mainstream. But then, why would I want to become mainstream?

delphine5.jpg

So that makes the second sculpture of this year finished. I hope to start on the next one later this month. First there's some clients to take care of.

A final picture, which I probably won't be allowed to post on other social media. I guess it was really cold in the workplace.

delphine7.jpg

Thanks for upvoting and resteeming.

Sort:  

Your work is mesmerizing! I love it. You certainly got a new fan!

Thank you. Much appreciated.

Yeah that's really damn cool. What was the inspiration for this piece?

Not sure. I'd been playing with the idea for a while.

You a gamer? Gives me a major Silent Hill vibe.

I've heard that before, but no, not a gamer. I pretty much suck at video games. 😉

Hi Tim. This is an awesome piece! I hope you're doing well! I just signed up to Steemit and I'm following you now.

Thanks, Jon. Long time no see. As you can tell I'm not that active on here. Still on Facebook mostly. Hope you're well. Gallery seems to be doing great. 😊

Amazing creativity...love your work:)

Wow, the completed work is so awesome! That last shot reminds me of the direction they went with the Bat Suits in the film Batman & Robin. Your talent and works of art are awe inspiring.
Not that I am in the market, but out of curiosity how much does a piece like this sell for?

Thank you. Out of curiosity, and not to avoid the question, but what do you think a piece like this would sell for?

I honestly would have no clue. However, I did a Google search for metal sculptures for sale and found this site. https://www.saatchiart.com/sculpture/metal

After briefly going through a dozen or so pages there I would say easily a few thousand dollars, probably more. In comparing your piece to some of the things listed on that site, yours seems much more substantial.

Hmm... Interesting site. I think I need to raise my prices. 😋

Selling price of this one is €3.400 by the way.

Yeah, some of the stuff on that site is set much higher and seems to offer much less. Seems my guess was somewhat close to your price.

Thanks for the input. It's always difficult putting a price tag on a piece.

Congratulations @timroosen, this post is the fifth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Newbie account holder (accounts that hold between 0.01 and 0.1 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by newbie account holders during this period was 4352 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $3649.86. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00