Freedom

in #art5 years ago

Perhaps some of you more art savvy people will recognize this painting: It is a painting by Edward Hopper. One of my favorites. In fact I like the original so much that I had to redraw it for myself.

In this process I have felt great joy in redrawing a masterpiece such as this one. You get to think a lot about the painting. You come into closer contact with it than just looking at it. You start to think like the original artist had to think and discover all the details in the painting.

The painting is simple, but equally marvelous. A room (or that is two rooms) filled with light. My immediate reaction to the painting was freedom and openness. Something that is amplified by the open door and the view on an open ocean.

Obviously there is a surreal feeling attached to the painting. The ocean outside makes one wonder how such a house (or room) could possibly exist. Perhaps it is on a cliff... but to me it seems that this unique setting easily grabs the viewer's attention and therefore engages him or her which makes it such a beautiful piece of art.

Tobe_banner.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66038.71
ETH 3178.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05