Mantis in the City

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Mantis in the City.jpg

The strange; frightening; surreal world of an insect taken out of it's natural habitat. What would the world look like to him? Perhaps his surroundings are a mess of stumuli his brain cannot comprehend. Perhaps I am like that as well. Colored pencil on paper.

(I swear I saw another artist draw a mantis like that once, but cannot put my finger on it. If anyone knows, please tell me:))

Sort:  

this is very nightmarishly sexy, which reminds me of two things, first one time on a high dose of shrooms, I had kaleidoscope vision, and later reflected that flies must see things like that.

Then once in this very strange dream, I was a snake, my vision was straight with the field sight offset by the eye being on the side, and my belly flush to the ground, then there was this coldiness to my being, being cold blood of course, in the experience of this dreams, I had no thoughts, just strange sensations. it wasn't until waking up and trying to figure out WTF was this experience, my best guess was I was having the experience of a snake.

it was very Zhuangzi, "Now I do not know whether I was then a man dreaming I was a butterfly, or whether I am now a butterfly, dreaming I am a man."

Thank you. I have been having strange dreams; like their own complete universes. I need to write more of them down.

yea dreams can be so strange and interesting, I had a dream last week, in which is spanned a 5 year period. I was doing some machiavellian to rule the orange groove scene in south america, like early 18 century with my archenemy was a steampunk female robot. I would like freud to put that in his pipe and smoke it ;D

p.s. i'm not sure if your aware, i'm trying to have this event "The 24hr Imaginarium on June 6th" its basically a creative holiday, and i saw your twirble tuesday with artzone, i was curious if we can do a twirble's 24hr Imaginarium, just a thought, might be fun, but no worries, if you can't. also hosting a live stream on dlive at 2:30-5pm EST, taking about art, creativity, future of work and steemit.

I don't know of another artist who drew a mantis like this... but I love this drawing so much.

Stunning shades of blue and green! Your worlds always surprise me. They remain in memory, make you look carefully at the picture.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64498.18
ETH 3079.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86