Puffin Study #1

in #art6 years ago (edited)

puffinstudy1.jpg

Puffins are just so cute; I cannot hold back any more. I remember beings so sad as a child that they were no longer in Maine; so when I heard they were restoring them I was estatic. For this study I did an outline first with colored pencil; then filled it in with wax pastel.

I often like to combine my various obsessions and see if I can create magic somehow; lately I have been rather obsessed with my home state of Maine and videos of puffins; and I also have been obsessed with drawing birds in a pop-surrealist fashion. So I thought maybe I would do some drawings of puffins to help construct my future vision; of a pop-surrealist inspired Maine landscape populated with birds and boats and lighthouses.

In particular I am fascinated with the big eyed art of artists like Peca, Naoto Hattori Opal Unicorn (also at the Hive Gallery) Todd Schorr, Craola Simpkins, Mark Ryden and the person everyone who does big eyed art should bow to;Margaret Keane.

Yes the above is nothing like that, but I am just thinking aloud about my future plans and hoping somehow it creates good morning coffee content. I will be incorporating my puffin images into this style; with more of an indigo blue night background.
Bitty Bird.jpg

DQmNdXiF8HTEQPjQBzP7oiJ3QnAEQUMt15L2vB9foqAjoSG.jpg

DQmYpaxNy2oLtstFu5ai46vXwBhDQ6vJPPU5wqhj8ZCo8jS.jpg

But a bit less on the "Surreal" side and more illustrative. Perhaps for a possible book or token design; not sure how I will use it. Excited for my project though!!!

Stay tuned for more studies!

Sort:  

100% upvote because Art. Fuck yeah.

Great use of color to set mood. #3 is my favorite as it is more defined. #4 would be if it were sharper. I know that is hard with pastels. But keep up the good work. This reminds me of a book. Very short easy read.

The War Of Art --Steven Pressfield

Check it out.

Thank you, I will look you up.

I think some scans/ photos are just better than others, although in some contexts it is better to have a less sharp image.

No doubt scans don't do your work justice. Its hard to translate nuance of work into a digital scan. I run into that every time I post a pic of my silver coins scores. I have an awesome coin that looks great in hand and it looks like shit in every pic I take. (not saying your art looks like shit to be clear) But you know what I mean.

Keep up the good work, homie.

Super cool I identify with your art is original and has a mysterious touch, in this moment i follow
picasion.com_34d0199bfb9c370a913ff5dbfb8991d7.gif

Thank you, I enjoy your digital work. I hope you win the Artexplosion contest even though I also entered:)

good and because we do not win the two hehe luckkkk

Really beautiful paintings :-D

Hello! Is it a pastel? Did you draw birds from life?

Wax Pastel study using a photo as reference; no puffins where I am, sadly.

Wax Pastel at us all taki other. More like our usual pastel, which is rubbed into dust.
How do you feel about drawing from a photo?

For me drawing from photos is good enough for studies and reference, and for thinking of places I wish I was. Of course real life drawing is better, but it is hard to get animals to stay still even if you can draw them from life. A nice spread winged pose would be almost impossible to capture from a live animal except as a gesture drawing ; at least for me.

Wax pastels are harder than oil pastels but have a smooth finish. I find them handy for more detailed work.

I agree with you.

About pastels, our wax looks glossy in the picture, and your matte, so I'm interested in what kind of material.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73