Puffin Study #3

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Puffin3.1.jpg

This study is more illustrative. Now that I have a better idea of the puffins basic structure, I can easily combine photos together to make an image. The above is an amalgamation of different photos from the Audubon "Project Puffin" and the lighthouse on Machias Seal Island in Maine.

I utilized less of the wax pastels in this study; and more colored pencil for better detail. The pastels I mainly used for the background and for where I wanted a softer look. I used darker blues and grays than in the photos I found and added a moon and clouds for atmosphere. Future images will be more illustrative and less realistic as I become more comfortable diverting from reality with this series. I plan to make larger eyes; like with "Big Eye Art" and add eerier landscapes. I do not know if I will create surreal art for this project; but I will definately draw from it for future works.

Below is another scan with less filters, I only adjusted the exposure; on the above I also adjusted the levels. The above is easiler to see while scrolling, and the below is a nicer image imho.
Puffin3.jpg

Now I see I need to wipe the dust off the scanner; oh well. You can view my previous studies here and here

Sort:  

The puffins are sad and sweet.

chalk? its wonderfull
picasion.com_30b6cad172e008a2cd974c26f858c0d6.gif

a very good mix between pastel wax and pencil. but I do not see softness here. I suggest add a little light. but this is a good work.

I'm a huge admirer of Scotland's beautiful landscapes and following on Instagram accounts from there I always see this cute birds,, they sure look really special.

Amazing painting!

Well, this is from Maine, but we have a lot of the same animals. And we are right near Nova Scotia. Scotland is beautiful, I had some interesting times there.

Hello @twirble! Why does not the beacon lighten up? )

Artistic license I guess. That and lack of fog.

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Thank you so much...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 65012.58
ETH 3101.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86