Some Works in Progress; Because I can't finish anything

in #art5 years ago

Traveler Closeup.jpg

I have been drawing constantly and working hard on improving my skills as an artist, but I still cannot seem to create a piece that I consider finished in the last few months. I have been attending figure drawing workshops weekly and been attending exhibits for inspiration, but I still have yet to create something I feel is fit to show.

townsquare2.jpg

I thought I would experiment with colored pencil on black gessoed panel and here is the results so far. I thought I would return to my old weird town and city scenes for this experiment. The idea was to go in with acrylic at some point; but I am not sure if I need to.

Surrealmafia2.jpg

Here is me just drawing the first thing that comes to my head for the fun of it. I have a lot of those; but this is the most complete and "Almost" finished. Not sure if I will ever show this piece of fun garbage but I enjoyed making it.

Traveler2.jpg

This 2 hour scribble was inspired by this years "Conjoined VS Grotesque" exhibit at Copro Gallery. Not an amazing example of that sort of work but it gives me ideas for the future.

Right not I am preparing panels for more pieces and hopefully I will finish a few pieces for next week. Maybe I will set up another Steemit challenge for myself to get me inspired. Thank you so much for your support, I need to come back on here more.

Sort:  

Maybe it's just a period and when you look at those images later you will realize that they are finished or you will know how to finish them.. I don't think that you need to think about it that much as it seems to be demotivating you. Just draw and draw and draw and do whatever makes you happy :)

Your drawings are great! Keep doing it :)

Have a lovely day!

I do not know if I am demotivated or motivated into many directions, lol. Maybe has Something to do with that ADHD they diagnosed me with a a child. Thank you, you to.

Hey - you got my upvote! :D
#camillesucknuts

*fighting toxic downvote behaviour on steemit - wish ya a great day! :D

Thank you, was I down voted?

Thank you - yup ^^

That's all we can do, draw, draw, create, draw and draw some more.

I'm not sure if we leave it up to we artists if anything is EVER done. You just have to be firm with yourself and say, I give this many days to a piece, and then I say it is DONE.

Of course giving advice is easier then following it, eh? I've been going back and forth on a few pieces at a time as well. But, sometimes it's just good to have that option of a few pieces at once.

Good luck and keep going @twirble

Sometimes I just decide a piece is done "for now" and put it away. When I decide it is finished I either go back to it later or work on it more. Thank you!

Your post was upvoted by the @art-venture account after manual review and included in Art-Venture magazine. The upvote and support of Art-venture magazine would greatly appreciated!
Unbenannt-1a.jpg

Thank you so much I will check you out. I have not been on as much lately, so much has changed. :)

I don't even know .. when it comes to my art .. what "finished" means. I feel your pain! I would rather use the word "amorphous". Most of my creations, especially the larger pieces fall into this realm. Best wishes with the challenges you plan to set for yourself! :-D

It is subjective of course. For me "finished" means I am at the point either a piece is ready to show or my gut tells me to stop. Thank you.

Yes. I hear ya. Your welcome. See you around!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

I like these works in progress. Your scribbles are delightful, the eyes and the holes, I like them a lot :D.

Nice stuff. Finished or not it's much appreciated. Thanks.

Posted using Partiko Android

Whimsical surreal dark stuff. It's definitely got it's own personality, it's like dark with lots of hope and fun going on with the pieces. Like a history of how hey, here's this miserable looking place for wherever reason and why is this person having fun. Nice stuff.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87