"Spider Hell"

in #art5 years ago (edited)

Spiderhell.jpg

Here is one of the pieces I am working on this week; as I discussed on Monday

I ordered some circular wooded panels from "Woodpeckers" sanded and gessoed them; then started on them with pencil to work out the designs from a combination of my imagination and the shapes I see in the wood. I have to admit; I like the way the pencil looks so much I might used little if any paint to create the finished product; perhaps I will varnish them. Any suggestions?

Here is how the piece looked when I posted on Monday.

20190603_152109.jpg

I cannot say for certain whether I improved the overall look of the piece; but I have added some definition to some shapes, neatened the image and added contrast.

Here is how the photo of my work today looks without Gimp filters.

20190605_150344.jpg

Look forward to sharing my progress on other pieces this week; thank you for your support.

Sort:  

beg_sad2.png

I agree, the pencil looks really cool - not sure paint is needed. A varnish sounds like a good idea to me. As an alien eyeball myself I appreciate the subject matter ;)

Haha thank you! I wonder how the varnish will look on pencil? Only really one way to find out I guess.

This is really cool @twirble I love working on circular wood. I did a few pieces back in my printmaking days on some circular wood.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hey @twirble, it's @maxijgcomm. Been a while. Nice to see you are back with your amazing abstract works.
If I may ask, did you make use of colored pencil for this work?

Yes, on black Gessoed Panels; thank you:)

Beautiful. I love your work

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow, this piece is fantastic. A really creepy vision of hell. Floating in a unity of suffering. Yet, it also has some calming elements. Thank you for sharing :) Resteemed and followed.

Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28