Staying Afloat

in #art6 years ago (edited)

What Keeps You Moving.jpg

My entering thingy for the Cryptoart Challenge. Inspired by the maginificent surreal work of Greg "Craola" Simpkins.

Greg__CRAOLA__Simkins.jpg

A former street artist and now traditional artist that is highly influential in the "Pop Surrealist" or "Lowbrow" art movement; a modern surrealist movement that contrasts with the world of "Highbrow" art.

I saw his work at an opening in Los Angeles last year; it really set me off artistically. For this piece I tried to reimagine his funky style with a tablet; still really rusty with working this way and I prefer to put my hands on things, but it was a great learning experience. Still looking at his work after my atempt I wish I had more time to work on it.

Sort:  

Looks really good ! I hope you win !! :-)
greeat.jpg

This turned out really cool, I really like it.

I also love the art world and it's genre, 'high brow' 'low brow' makes me laugh. And thanks for introducing me to this artist as well.

What I found helped me digitally is that I try to approach it as I do real world. I sketch on paper textures I use watercolour textures for that and also linen texture for oils and if you open document just to mix colours in like an oil palette it has a pretty 'real world' feel.

I like hands on too, but mostly do that in the warmer Summer time, digital has been a blessing in the colder months when I can just use my small studio in the house where it is more toasty. :)

Thank you. The Hive Gallery where I am a resident specializes in "Pop Surrealism" and "Low Brow" art. It's sort of an art "For the people by the people" type of space. Not that I would not want to make "High Brow" art; I just don't not know if I could ever make my presentation clean enough to show in those kinds of galleries.

Digital art is handy in many ways. I just need to practice. I am happy for the freedom now from thiese piece to work with my hands on something; even though It feels unfinished.

The art world, much like the world at large, is a funny place. I did know of high brow/low brow. Another term that became quite the thing a decade back or so ago was 'outsider art'. It made me laugh. To me, these need to compartmentalize and segregate art is silly. But, it is human nature. We like to group and divide things together. We have to know 'which side we are on' I suppose so we know whom to hate or love? Who can know, but sometimes, with out being all hippy dippy, I do wish the art world was more all inclusive and less judgemental. The way photography was once viewed now some view digital art. It's simply another tool, but it is a new tool so those who are set in their way don't like change. But, I learned a long time ago, the only constant in life IS change.

Sorry for that long winded comment :) I'd say keep making what you love how you love to make it and the viewers who like it will find you. And it matters not if they like 'high, low, or middle' brow art, as long as they are touched or moved by it, get a response, then you've made art in my opinion :)

I think more in terms of art movements full of facinating characters and lively art than mere classification, although it is handy when looking for a certain style.
Those in the "Low Brow" movement created an environment where artists rejected by high end galleries could profit, a very passionate and colorful scene at the galleries.

I find how different art movements react to each other interesting. Many in the "New Objectivity" art movement were also expressionist painters, even though the movement was in part a response to expressionism and it's detachment from reality.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66408.70
ETH 3225.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17