Original Art Photography Series by @velimir #179 'The Clash Within'

in #art6 years ago (edited)

'The Clash Within'


A minimalistic moment at its peak. Long shadows, textured background and patina on the surface create a story of their own. At a first thought, one cannot omit the sandy colour mix, giving off a sort of a desert feeling. Barbed wire over a desert camo paints a sorry portrait of the sadness brought by war. But, this image is not about that at all and neither is this barbed wire :)

It rather makes me think of the eternal clash of reason and feelings within a person. Sometimes, we try to put our feelings under control of our reasoning but they just won't listen, would they? At other times, we succeed but at a cost of losing our feelings. Without feelings, are we still human? Where lies the balance of feeling with a sense of control or reasoning with a feeling? Do they exist? Can you control your feelings with your reason or there is some higher force needed to help you?

Sharp thin dark lines are perpendicularly positioned against the wider, curved light ones. One can easily tell what represents what. Sharp darker lines would be the reasonable thoughts - accurate, based on logic. The curvy white thick ones are representing the feelings: good, bad, mixed, a whole bunch of all of them together. Strong low light is the key to this photograph. It creates straight shadows and shows the roughness of the surface. One must always utilize what one finds out there. :)

When I think deeper, I believe that it's much easier to deal with the reason. The reason can only be right or wrong. When a person enters a domain of feelings, anything becomes possible and everything may be painted in any nuance of any colour. Then, one has no way out but to side with the strongest feeling of them all - love, the force that I was referring to in the first paragraph. It's also the most often misused and misunderstood word. :D

Maybe a person should be able to use both reason and feelings in appropriate situations and thread the path of life without being biased by extremes. This is probably where that thin golden line of wisdom waits for each one of us.

Not an easy task, eh?

Enjoy! :)



©2018 Velimir Kovačić All rights reserved.



All images and text published in this post are my original work. I encourage everyone to use own texts, thoughts and images as much as possible. Be yourself and stay yourself. This is a proper way to build steemit.com. I do not have respect for dishonest authors. Also, bloggers actually DO matter!





• For good, inspirational read on various subjects follow: @gavvet
• For crypto news, follow always up-to-date @kingscrown 's blog on the subject.
• I really like to read @vcelier 's life story!
@ezzy writes awesome stories :)
• If you want to laugh away enjoy @meesterboom 's posts full of brisk humour and positive attitude!
• I suggest a visit to @adsactly society's blog if you feel like reading hi-quality posts about many themes daily provided by ADSactly society members!



• Vote @thecryptodrive @reggaemuffin and @adsactly-witness for your witnesses in the Witness Parliament. They are kind people who will represent you well.

I'd like to extend my gratitude to everyone who continuously supports both of my ongoing projects (Motorcycle Travel Series and Art Photography Series). Big thank you for enjoying the content and appreciating my effort. This is what steemit.com is meant to be about.





I am a member of the @buildteam crew, innovative creators of @minnowbooster @steemvoter and @steemsports blockchain projects.
Go Buildteam

The @adsactly society is a meeting point for free thinking individuals who want to cooperate. It is a welcome addition to Steemit.com community. Feel free to ask about it.



Go Adsactly


The @adsactly society Discord channel is here: ADSactly You are welcome to join!

Note to my dear readers, friends and followers: Please understand that I am unable to answer all of your comments because if I was to do that, I'd not have any time left for creating the series and for all of my other Steemit-related work. The amount of comments is overwhelming. It is beautiful to see that my work is appreciated and that it inspires so many people. I read all of your comments before going to sleep. It is my evening routine. Thank you so much for your support!

Sort:  

looking at that photo, I am reminded of my visit to the desert of Judea here in my country - large dunes with thin golden sand.
I remember the wind flowing on top of the dune, moving massive amounts of sand from one side of the dune to the other, moving it over the dune's summit in a blink of an eye.
This wonderfully composited photo and my dunes memory arise the same thoughts, inspired by velimir's accompanied text - emotions are fickle, and can swipe a person from feeling in a certain way to feeling the complete opposite in a blink of an eye - just like the dune's sand is moved by the wind. and like in the desert - a storm of emotions (or sand) can be dangerous. you can lose you way and wander to unknown regions you never intended to take, to say things or do things you will regret forever.

But should we neglect emotions and let reason be the only ruler? of course not! it will make life dull and depressing! so what should we do - well, like velimir noted - there should be a balance between this two components - just like in the picture - the lines can guide you though the picture and create an ordered structure to the wavy surface, and just like you can use certain tools to help you navigated the vast desert - the reason could navigate emotions - we can think about a situation and try to analyze whether our emotions are fitting this situations - and in some cases - we can decide we should let emotion sweep us and let go of the guard of the brain - like in love, true love.

thanks @velimir! I missed reading your posts!

some comments just leave me speechless :)

Not bad!

Our brain makes connections "alone" we have no ability to control it.
The same applies to the connections of colors.
Each color has different meanings depending on our moods.
But we work according to patterns that we adopted for ourselves

I looked and had to look away. I saw concertina wire and cattle grade wire, a nasty mix. Then I read your post and had to look again with a 'different reasonableness'.

It's a thought provoking picture. I think my reason is tempered by my feelings, and my feelings can direct my reason. My first look was almost pure feelings, and the second look more reasoned.

Thanks for another magnificent post. The photo and the words.

Good photo and deep thoughts ... I believe that for the type of temperament that predominates in a person (feelings or mind).
In my opinion, creative people are more inclined to show feelings than people who work with exact figures and calculations.
But what makes your photos so good is that everyone can immerse themselves in their own thoughts and reason and everyone can interpret the picture in their own way
Thank you and good evening to you :)

Looks like a great one place.Traveling, exploring is one of the biggest hobbies of people. Everyone likes to see new places. Sharing this with friends and family is the most exciting part of the trip. With the emergence of social media, we have seen the interest of people to visit and see.The life of people who have been sightseeing is more meaningful. They tell people about their favorite places and they light their surroundings.So ,THANK YOU for post sir .......

selfish, emotion is a dark shadow covered the sense ..!
common sense is lost when a sense of both appear, here we have to fight by using the Science (knowledge) ..!
the science of effective weapons destroy the emotions, egios.
Science will distill the truth and gave a signal to the brain before the place of action.

Itu benar..

Pls check out my post and upvote i wrote about you.https://steemit.com/steemitcrush/@missplendor/my-steemit-crush-velimir

I saw it, dear! Thank you!

Welcome to the Episode #179 'The Clash Within' Guys!

Let me put this Art in to my own way @velimir

This Great Photograph actually depicts the Human Brain as a whole yes it is a very Complex thing. It has mixture of many thoughts yes Good/bad/hidden/visible everything at one point that is human Brain.

Light is for good thoughts those shadows are bad thoughts, one become what he thinks :)

There is a very famous Quote of Ram Dass;

Unconditional love really exists in each of us. It is part of our deep inner being. It is not so much an active emotion as a state of being. It's not 'I love you' for this or that reason, not 'I love you if you love me.' It's love for no reason, love without an object.

Thank so much for this great Picture and Yes your Sense of humor and way of writing always makes me to look at you for several minutes.

Amazing Stuff My Friend @velimir

Stay Blessed, Steem On!

The good thing about feelings is that it always find an outward expression whether in arts, music, science, religion, and so on. Thanks @velimir . Nice article indeed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66408.70
ETH 3225.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17