Original Art Photography Series by @velimir #185 'Denied'

in #art6 years ago (edited)

'Denied'


Doing something like this to a fashion photo is extremely cruel. We are witnessing an absolute success of denying commercial beauty. I've found it in a shop window this morning, I didn't do it myself. The place is being renovated and the poster seems to be a left over from the previous owner. I deliberately left in the top reflection above their heads and the bottom where the inside of the shop can be seen. In the first version, I've cropped them both out but then I realized that it completely killed the reality of the place and redid the whole thing. Now the message is fully readable, we can see that it is a poster which some joker converted into something he deemed more appropriate than the boring original. :D

In today's fully commercialized world, people live from selling useless merchandise to each other every single day. The whole idea of getting into someone's mind and creating a subconscious need to own that glittery dress is totally destroyed, revealing completely another reality. Why is it so? Because now when a person sees the poster, she will not be able to identify with the models and subconsciously want to own such a dress. Thus, denied! Maybe we could transform every single commercial out there? The world would be a happier place. People would probably yearn for much less.

Marketing 'experts' often use animal drives and self-worth value of ego to work their ways into creating a need in people's minds to buy whatever they need to sell. Apart from that, just imagine how these three models would feel if they found out how little is enough to completely destroy the illusion of their perfection and turn them into objects of laughter? :D

The grander idea behind this is that the beauty is really fragile. Takes so little to remove the veils of mist it puts in front of eyes and, whats more, it doesn't last forever. Therefore, it might be a way better idea to invest in other virtues. :D

Then again, nothing is forever...
Hm... Maybe diamonds?

:D

Enjoy! :)



©2018 Velimir Kovačić All rights reserved.



All images and text published in this post are my original work. I encourage everyone to use own texts, thoughts and images as much as possible. Be yourself and stay yourself. This is a proper way to build steemit.com. I do not have respect for dishonest authors. Also, bloggers actually DO matter!





• For good, inspirational read on various subjects follow: @gavvet
• For crypto news, follow always up-to-date @kingscrown 's blog on the subject.
• I really like to read @vcelier 's life story!
@ezzy writes awesome stories :)
• If you want to laugh away enjoy @meesterboom 's posts full of brisk humour and positive attitude!
• I suggest a visit to @adsactly society's blog if you feel like reading hi-quality posts about many themes daily provided by ADSactly society members!



• Vote @thecryptodrive @reggaemuffin and @adsactly-witness for your witnesses in the Witness Parliament. They are kind people who will represent you well.

I'd like to extend my gratitude to everyone who continuously supports both of my ongoing projects (Motorcycle Travel Series and Art Photography Series). Big thank you for enjoying the content and appreciating my effort. This is what steemit.com is meant to be about.





I am a member of the @buildteam crew, innovative creators of @minnowbooster @steemvoter and @steemsports blockchain projects.
Go Buildteam

The @adsactly society is a meeting point for free thinking individuals who want to cooperate. It is a welcome addition to Steemit.com community. Feel free to ask about it.



Go Adsactly


The @adsactly society Discord channel is here: ADSactly You are welcome to join!

Note to my dear readers, friends and followers: Please understand that I am unable to answer all of your comments because if I was to do that, I'd not have any time left for creating the series and for all of my other Steemit-related work. The amount of comments is overwhelming. It is beautiful to see that my work is appreciated and that it inspires so many people. I read all of your comments before going to sleep. It is my evening routine. Thank you so much for your support!

Sort:  

Horrible... I cringed. Scary pictures

Great :D

looks like twilight scary vampires lol

LOL, that's a funny prank 😂
Laughs aside - one of your best analysis- the concept of breaking the illusion of beauty express by the anonymous vandalizing fella goes really well with the way you decided to take the picture, exposing it's nothing more than a flimsy poster on a gloomy shop's window.

What i take from that picture is that by breaking our concept of beatury and surprising us with it's destruction- our mind might take us one step forward: The shop is renovated, because it original design is now old-fashioned and not glittering and contemporary, we can even say that the graffiti just points it out clear for us - this is not beautiful anymore! We can take that idea to our contemporary post-modern world - no value is constant, the world is dynamic in this aspect too, things consider moral last year might look abhorrent today, and in our specific topic - the definition of beatury is liquid and ever changing - in the past, an obese person was considered really attractive, why?! Because it delivered a message of prosperity and financial ability!

Is it a good thing or a bad one? I'm not sure - but it's today's realty- our post modern values are changing fast, and we should really think about it and adapt.

Thanks velimir - I missed reading your posts 😊

I am a model and i have a very aggressive hereditary gum disease. I literally woke upi like the hangover missing my front tooth. I had drank entirely too much the night before and woke up in a bush missing my front tooth. It was quite the kick to my confidence The shittiest part about it is i didnt know where the damn thing was because if i did i would have glued it back in or at least tried. I couldnt afford a new tooth for almost 2 months ! I wound up sewing myself these lace face masks that i wore everywhere and anytime anyone would ask me about it i would say it was my silent protest against GMOs. This story suficed no one ever questioned it. It was back when i was still dancing too i even worked at the club secretly missing my fron tooth. Lol Missing a tooth suxs but i didnt let it eat my confidence.

Oh and by the way the cure to gum disease​ is active charcoal. That stuff is magical. Before brushing with that every one of my teethe where wiggeling BAD my teeth where so loose i wouldnt dare eat an apple. None of them wiggel anymore! Active charcoal is an Instant reliefe to any tooth aches and it whites your teeth emmencly!

omg...I didnt know about this. thank you for sharing! hope I didnt evoke some bad memories. if i did, please excuse!

no at all

in the general wave of confessions, I am also ready to give evidence - in my childhood I also painted pictures of different objects and sometimes it was obscene :)
I agree with the idea that thanks to marketing today we have an army of people who are ready to work to buy a thing that they do not need, and that would impress people who do not like them.
Still often I see that people buy a car on credit - that would go to work and earn money, in order to pay the loan. That is, there is a vicious circle. But this is beneficial to many but the owner of this machine.
You know how they talk about technology now (in particular, about the reliability of older machines, compared to the new ones) ... Previously, machines were made by engineers and cars served for a long time. Now the machines are made by marketers - that they would look beautiful (but did not last long).
Therefore, invest in knowledge - they are the most valuable thing we have in life. :)
Thank you, and good night :)

Yeah, I used to paint tits on the ladies in fashion magazines.

This is what I have done in my childhood.That is not what made me suprised.Your thoughts about it.I have never thought this far by looking at that picture.But when you have said it that way,I understand how true that is.I am so amazed by your capacity of thinking!!!!! You are a great artist.It is not because you write things well.You direct the people to wisdom through the entertainment
-cheers-

Thank you for your kind compliment! :)

Lovely post @velimir !With pleasure I read and completely agree with you!A very funny photo.))

дддддд.gif

I couldn't hold myself from laughing...this is really cruel what they did to this models. People really can go to any length to spoil other peoples image just to earn or get respect. Nothing really last forever, can diamond last forever under intense heat? Lol... @velimir sir, I thought you did this...OMG! the models are going to be so pissed when they see their pictures that way...hahahaha

Being pissed or not being pissed. This is not just a matter of respect, but modifying what is not intended to be modified. What does freedom signify in modern society? What should be expected of free people?

These are questions that need to be asked particularly in an environment like this one where censorship is so hard to achieve. What are we promoting? I think it's great, and I have given great thought to it, but a lot of reflection is needed in order to philosophically promote creative environments.

Hahaha i used to this post, when i an in collage... Too like this post

haha

I used to do that to pictures when I was a kid :D

hahaha ;-) finally an honest person! :D

Don't lose your dreams on the way! Keep doing what you enjoy and you'll be doing yourself a favor.

I agree, a lot of us get caught up with life and we forget our dreams.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13