Original Art Photography Series by @velimir #186 'Old Lost Tape'

in #art6 years ago

'Old Lost Tape'


I really wonder how many of you actually had a pleasure to listen to an ordinary cassette tape. See, in that sound system, one had to listen to several songs before turning the tape to the other side and repeat the process. There was no direct access to the song like there is today. During fast-forwarding and rewinding there was always a slight chance that the player will 'eat' the tape. If that happened, one needed a pencil to hand wind the tape back inside but the quality was never the same again. There was also a procedure of cleaning the 'head' of the player with ear cotton buds soaked in alcohol, what would ensure better sound if done every month or two. If you wanted to copy a tape you'd need a jack and two players with inputs and outputs. These were quite rare in the early eighties. But, we managed... If nothing else, we'd just set one to play the music and the other one to record the sound and leave the room, so there would be no additional sounds. :D

The tape tower in the picture was hanging from the ceiling as a decoration, bringing back all the memories that I've just shared with you. It appears to be an extension of the house as if growing out of it. This illusion is present because I kept the flow of the vertical lines aligned with the house's lines. Without doing this, the photo wouldn't have that orderly feeling which it has now. If the tape tower was slanted, the unity would disappear and with it the value, too.

I took time to catch the perfect angle of the sun in the window of the reflected house. And, there we have it right there on the right side. This is a single exposure and nothing was composited in Photoshop.

The colour scheme fits well with the presented idea. The blues and yellows helped with a bit of green add a slightly 'thicker' feeling to the already presented contrast. I wouldn't mind the tape tower being just a little bit more visible but this is how it came out. Or not at all, on the second look. I like it a bit 'ghostly' appearing.

Hm... Now that I think... I must have listened to my last tape back in... Mmm... '95, '96? When did the CD come out? I still remember 'The Velvet Underground' tape which some evil character nicked from my car, together with the tape player, after opening the trunk with a crowbar... In Prague. :D

Enjoy! :)



©2018 Velimir Kovačić All rights reserved.



All images and text published in this post are my original work. I encourage everyone to use own texts, thoughts and images as much as possible. Be yourself and stay yourself. This is a proper way to build steemit.com. I do not have respect for dishonest authors. Also, bloggers actually DO matter!





• For good, inspirational read on various subjects follow: @gavvet
• For crypto news, follow always up-to-date @kingscrown 's blog on the subject.
• I really like to read @vcelier 's life story!
@ezzy writes awesome stories :)
• If you want to laugh away enjoy @meesterboom 's posts full of brisk humour and positive attitude!
• I suggest a visit to @adsactly society's blog if you feel like reading hi-quality posts about many themes daily provided by ADSactly society members!



• Vote @thecryptodrive @reggaemuffin and @adsactly-witness for your witnesses in the Witness Parliament. They are kind people who will represent you well.

I'd like to extend my gratitude to everyone who continuously supports both of my ongoing projects (Motorcycle Travel Series and Art Photography Series). Big thank you for enjoying the content and appreciating my effort. This is what steemit.com is meant to be about.





I am a member of the @buildteam crew, innovative creators of @minnowbooster @steemvoter and @steemsports blockchain projects.
Go Buildteam

The @adsactly society is a meeting point for free thinking individuals who want to cooperate. It is a welcome addition to Steemit.com community. Feel free to ask about it.



Go Adsactly


The @adsactly society Discord channel is here: ADSactly You are welcome to join!

Note to my dear readers, friends and followers: Please understand that I am unable to answer all of your comments because if I was to do that, I'd not have any time left for creating the series and for all of my other Steemit-related work. The amount of comments is overwhelming. It is beautiful to see that my work is appreciated and that it inspires so many people. I read all of your comments before going to sleep. It is my evening routine. Thank you so much for your support!

Sort:  

Terrific work. My first thought was an overlay or compositing the image on top, but seeing your comments below I realize it is not. There are few things more rewarding than successfully pulling off an in-camera trick nowadays. In this digital age, it's so easy to write something off as an "effect", it's so nice to see people using their tools in the original manner rather than relying on fixing it later on a phone or computer. Anyway, cheers my friend!

How did u make this effect?

@bitton i believe its merge on Photoshop. you can adjust the contrast overlapping between multiple
photos

He said it is reflection in a window pane, not photoshopped.

This is no Photoshop, not even double exposure. One take, my friend! :) I always write if I make composites in Photoshop.

Which is The Best? Photoshop or Coral Draw?

photoshop is the best for me, especially CC stands for a great workflow and superb performance

good good good!!!

Aah Yes, I still have a vivid memory of those tapes. It felt like it was yesterday and talking about this now reminds me how far we have came. Speaking of which, I still have an old recorded tape of me talking when I was a few years old.

You have captured a very nostalgic image :)

The tools of the trade:

3m scotch magic tapes products.jpg

57445-1101-2-3ww-l.jpgs0070728_sc7.jpg

You might also use a razor blade and if you were super fancy you had a cassette tape splicer and bought actual splicing tape instead of Scotch tape.

Just an urchin living under the street
I'm a hard case that's tough to beat
I'm your charity case, so buy me something to eat
I'll pay you at anoth...
... it's all a gamble, when it's just a game
You treat it like a capital crime
Everybody's doing the time
Take me down to the paradise city...

I was also on the tail end of 8-track tapes. Heck, my Dad had some old 78 RPM records of classical music and Danny Kaye comedy routines. I bought the sound track to The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly on LP, and I a 33 1/3 RPM of Dean Martin (one song on each side) pulled from the Jukebox at the bar his Mom owned when he was a kid. Sadly, the soundtrack and 33 1/3 were ruined by a leaking water heater.

Good times. Great photo.

this is the nostalgic memories of the past. I remember my childhood when everyone had audio players who played cassettes and fed finger batteries. Then listening to music in the head was very cool. I remember how thanks to sound recording we recorded our voices or songs. But soon there were CD makers and such players lost their relevance. It was the same with video tape recorders, it was a good time. But the disks replaced everything :) now and the disks have lost their relevance. Flash drives and Internet are all that's needed :)

Once again, I take pride in your ability to use the right time to make an unusual photo. I think that this can not be learned - it must be inside you. At first glance you might think that the photo was made thanks to photoshop, but it's not so and it adds value photos. I like.

Good evening:)

It's a glorious photo with a very nostalgic flair. Unexpected and beautiful.

I've listened to cassette tapes this century for sure. My Yamaha Venture Royale had a cassette system in it and I rode that until maybe 2005. It was really easy to find 'gently used' cassettes at the time. Nobody wanted them any more.

Sir each and every thing u said about the old cassette player was right,I got nostalgic while reading ur post.
Every single thing u said I used to do as I am also Percussionist,so I kept a very good care of my Player.
Thank you Sir,for sharing.
I am ur regular blog- reader.
Regards @crafter

A tko nije kazete slusao ne zna sta je zivot :P
Jos se sjecam svojih prvih Gunsa koje mi je teta nosila iz Seattlea i prvog albuma Pipsa koji sam kupila na Hrelicu :) Ah, osamdesete 😺 Super fotka, btw

even if this is my first comment on steemit, this has a lots of meaning for me. i like the metaphor of the reflected house. it looks like the house belongs to another dimension. it could be the perfect angle for this picturesque view. thank you for your nice work @velimir . it looks i will be following you for such good works. with respects... @rojda.tekin

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63671.94
ETH 3040.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01