Original Art Photography Series by @velimir #197 'Tree House'

in #art6 years ago

'Tree House'



A tree house built on an old oak tree appeared in front of me in the middle of the upper town. Its sudden appearance caught my attention and immediately started some old forgotten feeling of wonder, that I remember having as a boy. Do you know a child that doesn't want one? A tree house is almost a symbol of every child's independence and sense of adventure. We learn to appreciate these moments already when very young, don't we?

It can be challenging to make black and white photography. Especially in the old days when Photoshop was a far away future. The contrast, together with the tonal reflections of objects, is the most difficult part to master and it is the core of b&w photography. I kept the image in mid-level tonality because I find it to be the most beneficial for black and white stylization if an idea doesn't need special treatment. It might be the way to go in all cases that don't deserve strong contrast, out of key balance or greyed out look achieved by the use of low con filters... etc.

I added two greyed out areas to get the old look-and-feel vibe of a partially misdeveloped photo. This effort removes the perfection and adds to the overall feeling and the atmosphere of the photograph. But, you already know how I feel about technical perfection, right? :D

Enjoy! :)



©2018 Velimir Kovačić All rights reserved.



All images and text published in this post are my original work. I encourage everyone to use own texts, thoughts and images as much as possible. Be yourself and stay yourself. This is a proper way to build steemit.com. I do not have respect for dishonest authors. Also, bloggers actually DO matter!





• For good, inspirational read on various subjects follow: @gavvet
• For crypto news, follow always up-to-date @kingscrown 's blog on the subject.
• I really like to read @vcelier 's life story!
@ezzy writes awesome stories and reviews. :)
• If you want to laugh away enjoy @meesterboom 's posts full of brisk humour and positive attitude!
@thecryptodrive and @reggaemuffin are good guys who run good witness service!
• I suggest a visit to @adsactly society's blog if you feel like reading hi-quality posts about many themes daily provided by ADSactly society members!


Vote @adsactly-witness for your witnesses in the Witness Parliament. ADSactly Society is kind people who will represent you well.

I'd like to extend my gratitude to everyone who continuously supports both of my ongoing projects (Motorcycle Travel Series and Art Photography Series). Big thank you for enjoying the content and appreciating my effort. This is what steemit.com is meant to be about.





I am a member of the @buildteam crew, innovative creators of @minnowbooster @steemvoter and @steemsports blockchain projects.
Go Buildteam

The @adsactly society is a meeting point for free thinking individuals who want to cooperate. It is a welcome addition to Steemit.com community. Feel free to ask about it.



Go Adsactly


The @adsactly society Discord channel is here: ADSactly You are welcome to join!

Note to my dear readers, friends and followers: Please understand that I am unable to answer all of your comments because if I was to do that, I'd not have any time left for creating the series and for all of my other Steemit-related work. The amount of comments is overwhelming. It is beautiful to see that my work is appreciated and that it inspires so many people. I read all of your comments before going to sleep. It is my evening routine. Thank you so much for your support!

Sort:  

it looks scary in white and black))

I like! Especially in such a black and white context. Thank you for the photo!

Awesome photography. This reminds me of a book i used to read back then called Treehouses & Playhouses You Can Build.
I remember this book till now because i saved my money to buy that book, my parents could buy it then, but i was told that what you buy with your money, you would value. So that was how i started buying books myself.
I must say that i like your use of toning.
Are those things hanging from the roof Xmas lights? at first i thought they were plants growing around the building but then, it was not scattered around. (my thoughts) :)
I think that the toning was good because if it was not toned, it would make it seem like a horror house or haunted location :) The whole black and white idea is just perfect.
Thank you for sharing @velimir.

thank you for your nice comment!

Everyone can interpret this photo in its own way. At first glance, I would say that this house on the tree is a monument of the childhood of the last generation. Why is that? Because the current generation of children is not interested in the real world and real sensations. According to my personal observations (if I'm not right, tell me), the current generation of children is more keen on the viral world and its gadgets.
Children do not know the joy that their parents experienced before. There were no mobile phones and the meeting place was stipulated in advance, there was an intrigue. Played on the street to the cognition, looking for adventure - it was interesting and impressive. That's why every child before the 2000s has bright memories from childhood :) Everyone has something to tell ...
Something I plunged into thinking :)
Photography really has an atmosphere, but not terrible, but on the contrary the atmosphere of something forgotten. The gray blurred areas of the tree (the tree in this photo is a symbol of support) tell me that the values ​​of the last generation no longer have support. The values ​​of the last generation will remain in the memory of the last generation.
Good photo
Goodnight:)

True that. In my city kids generally don't play on the streets anymore...

that was very deep and worth reading... it is important to give children at least a glimpse of what it was like to be a child before technology evolved...

This is a spectacular shot. Seems the me that the house is floating. Did you do any kind of post-processing? Also it was not 100% clear to me if it is film or digital. I think based on your comments I am inclined towards film.

I know right, i felt the same way, the whole floating thing. great post

Its looks like a picture from horror movie 😀

interesting :-))

This is really beautiful.. I love the Black and White Too. It's funny, something so simple like an old tree house can be so beautiful. Nicely done.. Upvoted and followed !

I also think these two greyed out areas were a good idea. Additionally to the old look they balance the domination of black and make the picture less heavy. Nice shot!

Another photo of yours I like, for similar reasons! This one has a great vibe to it, both creepy and nurturing so it keeps your attention longer as those two contradictions battle each other. Cool stuff!

I think you can see the artistic value of the image through the different interpretations of the subject, it invites people to reflect.

Without being told, this is an old structure that is still standing the test of time. This is a very unique one from you @velimir

Beautiful piece of art👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69796.92
ETH 3521.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.70