Original Art Photography Series by @velimir #219 'Do the Plants Dream of Snow?'

in #art6 years ago (edited)

'Do the Plants Dream of Snow?'



When I came across this plant, at the first moment, I thought about removing the snow from it. Then I sat, had a coffee and gave it a thought. Would it be a good or a bad thing to do that? The plant will be released from the weight of the snow, ready to absorb the light, to sense the sun when it comes out, right? On the second thought, I realized that it got used to the snow, probably started some processes, maybe it evens makes it stay warm in there.

I remembered something a wise man told me once. He asked me if I'd take a bag of money if found laying on the street. Most of us, if honest, would answer: 'Yes, of course.' So did I. He gave me a very loving look and painted what could happen after I'd acquired that imaginary bag. It could belong to the bad guys who would kill me for it, it might make police think that I robbed the bank, not the guys who dropped it. Even if I came home and safely hid it, I'd probably have to spend it very gradually and live in fear that someone might find out about it sooner or later. In the end, he mentioned that it might make me more miserable than before I'd taken it off the street. Definitely deep.

This closed composition, chained in white, is an example of high key photography. The challenge when doing these types of shots is to preserve the detail in the dark parts but still keep the image in tonal balance. I deliberately made the snow on top of the plant seamlessly flow into the background whiteness. It counterparts the heaviness with its whiteness but also envelops the plant, metaphorically leaving no way out. This works well with the general idea. The orange pot makes the photo livelier and is the only coloured element. The right top corner element, behind the plant, is very important. It is the only object defining the perspective of the background. This is the reason why it is there.

So, not really knowing what the snow does for the plant, I decided to leave it just the way it is and let nature decide the best way. There is no need to get involved in things one doesn't understand. Except to take a photograph. Not much can go wrong that way.

Enjoy! :-)



©2018 Velimir Kovačić All rights reserved.



All images and text published in this post are my original work. I encourage everyone to use own texts, thoughts and images as much as possible. Be yourself and stay yourself. This is a proper way to build steemit.com. I do not have respect for dishonest authors. Also, bloggers actually DO matter!





• For good, inspirational read on various subjects follow: @gavvet
• For crypto news, follow always up-to-date @kingscrown 's blog on the subject.
• I really like to read @vcelier 's life story!
@ezzy writes awesome stories and reviews. :)
• If you want to laugh away enjoy @meesterboom 's posts full of brisk humour and positive attitude!
@thecryptodrive and @reggaemuffin are good guys who run good witness service!
• I suggest a visit to @adsactly society's blog if you feel like reading hi-quality posts about many themes daily provided by ADSactly society members!


Vote @adsactly-witness for your witnesses in the Witness Parliament. ADSactly Society is good people who will represent you well.

I'd like to extend my gratitude to everyone who continuously supports both of my ongoing projects (Motorcycle Travel Series and Art Photography Series). Big thank you for enjoying the content and appreciating my effort. This is what steemit.com is meant to be about.





I am a member of the @buildteam crew, innovative creators of @minnowbooster @steemvoter and @steemsports blockchain projects.
Go Buildteam

The @adsactly society is a meeting point for free thinking individuals who want to cooperate. It is a welcome addition to Steemit.com community. Feel free to ask about it.



Go Adsactly


The @adsactly society Discord channel is here: ADSactly You are welcome to join!

Note to my dear readers, friends and followers: Please understand that I am unable to answer all of your comments because if I was to do that, I'd not have any time left for creating the series and the rest of my extensive Steemit-related work. The amount of comments is overwhelming. It is beautiful to see that my work is appreciated and that it inspires so many people. I read all of your comments before going to sleep. It is my evening routine. Thank you so much for your support!

Sort:  

Thank you! The photo is really very original!

I love the idea you presented that the snow could possibly be preventing growth through blocking the sun or possibly protecting the plant in someway sort of like a blanket protecting it through this delicate hibernation period.
Thank you for the interesting ideas and inspiring photography @velimir

I pay more attention to the first paragraph of this post. I can't afford to imagine what you felt when you saw the flower @velimir, because I had never seen snow directly. My country (Indonesia) never snowing, so I really like to see the photos of flowers covered by snow. I think it would be great if you can see directly.

oh man, thank you! for us, snow is a normal thing. so glad to hear that you enjoyed seeing this!

Yea, normal in your country but for me its like a dream.
Hahahhaha

I hope some time I could feel the snow.

He gave me a very loving look and painted what could happen after I'd acquired that imaginary bag.

haha was this wise man Cormac MacCarthy? :) Sounds like the premise of his novel "No country for old man", which is basically a long story about: do not ever take a bag of money lying around...

no, lol it was one of my teachers at the film academy :)
but then again, maybe he read the book!

uh uh now i got to find that book...

or the movie, will be easier to find, faster to watch :
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0477348/

Really awesome post. I really liked the picture, sure, but your prose really caught me. I'm not sure how to explain it, but I guess it's just soothing to read you.

Also, your reflection on the plant's state and whether you should interfere or not really added a layer to my enjoyment of this composition. There are indeed some things it's better to just report on and let play out.

Steem on!

Thank you very much. Really appreciate it! :)

Looking beautiful photos

No i dream of snow more but never see live snowing :( image looks amazing but not that much prettier than your purplish photography :)

hahaha yes, I love my latest travel bluish-purple style very much!

thank you!

yes there are 3 4 travel articles in which you used purplish images and i just love them .Infact i have saved them :P i know these are yours but i love them :) Hope you don't mind

Great lesson!
We face this situation in our life quite a lot When we want to do something, but then we stopped, And it turned out to be great! and we feel happy in not doing it.
Do good, leave rest to God <3
Thanks for sharing :)

Yes, you are right in your judgments. I know what I'm talking about. Snow will help keep the heat and it definitely adapts to these conditions.
There are processes in which it is better not to intervene as if we did not want it. A great example with a bag of money. On this occasion there are excellent words of Viktor Chernomyrdin: "хотели как лучше, а получилось как всегда" in translation - "We wanted, as best, but it turned out, as always." . or another one no less relevant: "Hell is paved with good intentions."
We must live in harmony with nature and the surrounding world. But people violate harmony and interfere in natural processes. We all see where this leads to.
On this topic it is possible to conduct discussions and long to argue. But I'm here to enjoy the composition and get away from the problems that arise.
Great photo, thanks :)

Wow! I love the explanation/analysis of your own work. You obviously know your stuff and aren't just a face behind a lens capturing shots of pretty things. I like that a lot of thought went into this--not just in taking the picture but also the reflection--and it definitely contributed to the overall outcome. Good stuff!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99