Goat sculpture

in #art5 years ago

I know, I haven’t even finished my last sculpture and I’m already beginning a new one. I can explain...

As much as I’d like to finish my lion skull, it doesn’t exactly fit in with the designs that I have in mind for my Etsy shop. So I’m taking a break from that one to work on this goat head. I’m using a different type of clay this time. I can’t recall the brand but it’s a no-bake high oil clay. I started this one late night with @kommienezuspadt, going back and forth with ideas. I probably should’ve sketched out my ideas buuuut....I didn’t.

I had several images pulled from the internet as reference. Looking at this like a sketch, I mapped out the shapes of the face so I knew where to build up the clay.

As I’m packing on little bits of clay to give this head more dimension, I’m imagining what it would’ve been like to sculpt this stuff on someone’s face. The color of the clay reminds me of scar wax.

Progress was made and I’m having lots of fun. I find myself looking at this sculpture from all angles, making sure it looks right. I’m not sure how much longer it’ll take until all the elements start coming together.

I have to drive to my dad’s place tonight so I’m going to work on this as much as I can. He’s leaving the country for a month and has asked me to drop him off at the airport tomorrow.


Thanks for stopping by to view my work!🦊

Sort:  



This post has been rated by the user-run curation platform CI! In this platform users are able to manually curate content. This is done regardless of Steem Power, for both rewards and vote size calculation.

Join in at our site here!
https://collectiveintelligence.red/

Or join us on discord to interact with the community!
https://discord.gg/sx6dYxt



This post was submitted for curation by: @theironfelix
This post was given a rating of: 0.9815984734018366
This post was voted: 100%

At first glance I thought oh my goodness is the fox making sculptures out of milk chocolate? looks delicious ahaha!

Hahaha! Have been watching The Curious Creations of Christine McConnell? 😏

I wish I was skilled enough to sculpt with chocolate but I feel like I’d make a complete mess of it all!

Looking pretty good already 🙂

Posted using Partiko iOS

Good luck! Hope it turns out well. So far the mouth looks really nice.

Thanks geek! I worked on this for another hour and it looks completely different! The horns are gonna be fun. I’m so excited!!

You're doing fine, although I would not know for sure because I've never made a sculpture. hehehehe

I hope you can finish it quickly to see your complete work and be able to appreciate your finished goat. ;)

I bet you’d be good at it!

When I’m feeling better then I’ll definitely put some more time into this sculpture and share another update. ^^

Ok, I hope you recover soon. ;)

Wow, amazing, foxie ! I have never done sculpting but you're making me very interested ! The shapes are coming together so well already <3

Aww thanks Spidey! I was looking at this goat head today and wondering if one of the boys squished it because I’m having trouble remember where I left off! 🤣


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

It is comming along handsomly!

Thanks @artistleonardo! I appreciate your kind words!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88