Watercolor portrait sketch

in #art6 years ago


Beautiful weather here in Minneapolis so @guthrie and I went out for a long stroll. Our mission, walk the mile it takes to get to the closest ice-cream shop. I was hoping to walk a bit longer but he was already complaining less than five minutes in. He’s a coffee shop kid so he runs out of juice fairly quickly. I felt a little guilty but I knew it would be a good experience for him. We’re planning on getting him his own bikes soon so that will make things easier in the future. I bribed him with the idea of getting sour gummy’s for his sweet treat and he found his second wind.  

We arrived and took a short break indoors to enjoy our ice-cream. With flushed cheeks and wide eyes he exclaimed that the ice-cream tasted ‘so good’ and I explained that it tastes better when you work for it. He agreed, savoring the taste of each spoonful before suggesting that we drive next time.  

@guthrie and I are home now, he refuses to go back outdoors and I’m okay with that. Instead of meeting @kommienezuspadt at @caffetto we’re going to spend quality time together and watch the first three Jurassic Park films.  

Instead of editing photos yesterday, I started this portrait sketch in watercolor. I went through two other squares of paper before I got the hang of my brush. I’m using Dr. Ph Martin’s Radiant Concentrated watercolor’s with Windsor & Newton paint brushes on mixed media paper.  

I skipped the pencil and mapped out a general face shape. I was a bit heavy handed so I had to wait for the first layer to dry before building darker colors to create more depth. This came down to being a test of color saturation and noting how much water the brushes were taking in.

With a lighter hand I painted in softer curves for the hair. I thought about introducing another color but it seems like a better idea to wait until it fully dries. The image below is where I decided to stop.  


Should I leave this sketch as is or should I add more colors? 

Thanks for stopping by! 🦊 

Sort:  

I like it as it is but maybe one more colour could bring some more depth. Don't you think?

I like it. Instead of color once it dries I would go over it with an interesting line work, in black or dark Navy blue.

That’s a good idea! I might go over it with pencil and then pen.

Yes, god idea, don't add more colors, for watercolor work is great. Since you love to draw, maybe lines will liberate you more :)

I’m pretty excited to do more with this and I think you’re right. Pencil work will make this feel more like my style. :)

I think it looks pretty good as it is, though don't let that stop you if you feel like adding more colours :D

I’m gonna try mixing colors with the next sketch.

Such an interesting piece, @vermillionfix! And it was fun reading about your walk and ice cream. The weather has been so crazy here that you have to get out and enjoy it whenever you can!

Thanks @jayna! It was a cute little adventure that we had. The weather here has been super crazy and I’m sure the mosquitoes are loving this humidity. 😆

I gave you an upvote on your post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return and possible future votes!

That better than after eating some ice cream, go back home and hang out watching some movies! And to recover the time to make this drawing made in watercolour, I liked as it looks great:D

It's fun, especially with watercolour, to go in blind with no sketch and create.

I love your soft blues. I see you approach the real and the digital similarly, as do I. I often find when painting digitally I'm still using the same muscles I do with real oil on real canvas, as it feels so familiar.

I can't wait to see if you add more colour and continue down the monochromatic path with this piece.

I´d love some black outlines. But it´s already now a pretty painting :)

I might go on with another green/blue pencil and then build up with a darker shade to finish. ^^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28