A very interesting interview with Slayer artist, Dean FlemingsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art6 years ago

Visionary art TV interviews Los Angeles surrealist artist & illustrator, Dean Fleming.

Dean gives us some interesting & unexpected insights into how he got started as an artist & what it is like living as an artist in Los Angeles.

 photo dean_fleming_steemit_4_zpssc2a2qvs.png

Here are some of the questions I asked him:

1.Have you always drawn or been interested in art?

2.How did you get started as an illustrator?

3.What are some of the most recognizable images from your commercial work?

4.How did a career in illustration lead to surrealism?

5.How did you find your style? Has it changed from when you first started?

6.Can you tell us something about your studio?

7.What is your primary medium? Why?

8.Who do you paint for?

9.What kinds of responses do you get to your work?

10.How do you approach galleries? What if you don't care to sell your work?


This particular interview does have a subtitles option, if needed.


 photo dean_fleming_steemit_5_zpsjn5rnmgk.png

Thank you for watching ! I hope you enjoyed it ... I know the Skype connection on this day was not 100 % (do have subtitles though) but any constructive criticism or ideas are always welcome. :)

P.S. As mentioned in my previous post I am still having some trouble uploading directly to DTUBE … still getting the “unknown error report.” This episode has embedded from youtube. I am doing more research on it & hopefully fix the issue. Art shows are also good to watch in HD so Im not stressing about it.
 photo Screenshot 120_zpsfrtyajwo.png

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you. :)

The D-Tube "Unknown error" can be multiple things. For me it was the tags. You can only use four because it adds the fifth: #dtube

Unfortunately, you're going to have to just research all of the issues other people have had, and then eliminate them one by one until you identify yours.

Thanks @leoplaw. Yeah Ive tried different steemit keys & my video files are not bigger than 1 gb etc. Anyway, I will do what you have suggested. Im not going to stress about it. I think Dtube should also consider looking into this because many people seem to be having this issue in one way or another.

Decent error reporting is a must.

Congratulations @visionaryart! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

A really interesting segment and interview, @visionaryart! It is always so interesting to see an artist's view on things :) I like your choice of questions a lot ! :D

Thank you @veryspider. To be very honest with you ... I actually get the artist I am interviewing to choose some of the questions themselves before the interview. Due to the fact that I dont know many of the artists I interview personally there are some questions I would never think to ask them. :)

Hey Bon, try this, and let me know if you're still having issues uploading to dtube. I can help you with this.
Screenshot (163).png
Peace.

Thanks allot. Bob. Will do :)

good - you are hanging in there - embedding from YouTube is not a capital crime lol. Whatever works for you!
upvoteed and resteemed

Thank you very much @thermoplastic Yeah, there is a bit to learn to use this platform efficiently but will keep on. The algorithms on the other major platforms are just starting to get a little stupid. Im glad to see there are already some of the Visionary Artists, Imaginary Realists & Surrealists on the Steem !

I am sharing as much as I can find on my VA Twitter (but also other stuff) - the great thing about Steemit is that shared on Twitter it comes with a image and short description.
Myself, I am just in the process of installing Twitter Cards on my artists pages.
About our artists on Steemit: unfortunately the ones I listed long ago here, most are not active:
https://steemit.com/art/@thermoplastic/artists-from-the-visionary-art-network-on-steemit

dtube never worked for me either...no idea why it always keeps on telling me to load a video when everything is already done...

Yeah, and my videos take hours to upload because they are just under 20 minutes long. Anyway, there must be a reason for it ... Im gonna keep trying & will keep just embedding from you tube in the interum.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02