Don’t worry about being a bestseller. Really. Don’t.

in #art6 years ago

(Also, a giveaway!)

(Read all the way down for a kickass giveaway!)

I went to a minor league baseball game tonight.

I love going to watch the Reno Aces play. I look forward to it all year. We try to go to a game every week all summer.


I love rooting for the home team. I love ballpark hot dogs. I love the fireworks if we go on Friday. I love hanging out in the sun, sharing a bag of peanuts with my family.

Tonight, I watched these men play and I had a thought:

I hope they let themselves really, truly, fully fall in love with the fact that they’re living what was probably their dream since childhood. They are making a living playing baseball.

I hope they don’t get so caught up in wishing they were playing for the major leagues that they can’t be fully present in their bright and shining moment.

Just before we left for the game, the Fed Ex guy delivered a big old package full of these babies:


Want to win one of these?

That’s an Advance Reader Copy of my book, The Astonishing Maybe.

My book. The one I wrote during my MFA program. The one I sold last summer to MacMillan — a major publisher of children’s books. The one I sold last summer to MacMillan for enough money to let me just be a writer for a while.

Will I be a bestseller? Will my middle-grade book be the next big thing? Will someone want to make a movie out of it? Will I be a gozillionaire?

Eh.

The honest, most reasonable answer is: probably not.

But I’m going to enjoy the ride anyway, and try not to get too caught up in obsessing over whether or not I’ll ever be called up to the Big Show.

Guess what? I’m giving away three signed copies of my pretty new ARCs! Plus, each winner gets lifetime access to the DIY version of my year-long novel writing course — A Novel Idea. It’s the exact method I used to write The Astonishing Maybe.

And I really, really want you to know what it feels like to get a package of ARCs delivered to your house, too.

(It feels awesome.)

Just enter here to win. You’ll get a fancy pants special URL that will get you three extra entries for every one of your friends who signs up using it. So make sure to Tweet that shizz out!

The give away ends at 5 p.m. PST on June 24.



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://selfscroll.com/dont-worry-about-being-a-bestseller-really-dont/
Sort:  

This user is on the @buildawhale blacklist for one or more of the following reasons:

  • Spam
  • Plagiarism
  • Scam or Fraud

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94