Inktober #28 The Catrina

in #art5 years ago


Greetings Steemians, the following drawing that I am publishing is referring to an icon of the Mexican culture and that, according to its history, was created as a mockery towards some poor people who wanted to pretend a life of luxury and forget their origins and customs.

The Catrina, was created by José Guadalupe Posada in 1910 under the phrase:

"Death is democratic, because in the end, blonde, brunette, rich or poor, all people end up being skulls" - José Guadalupe Posada

The story about the Catrina is very interesting, I invite you to investigate more about it and the Mexican culture. For my #Inktober number 28 I drew the catrina, apropos that is approaching the day of the dead that is November 1 and 2 and on this date many Mexican women dress as Catrina.

The sheet of paper that I used gave me a lot of problems and I did not like it very much since the paper was eaten with ink and some holes are seen, I do not want to use this type of sheets anymore, at least not with ink.

Good morning everyone and thanks for watching my new drawing, I hope you like it!

Gif of Drawing Process

My Most Recent Works


Look at me

Look at me

Look at me

Look at me

Upvote-resteem.gif



Sort:  

Very cool drawing, i like the way mexican tradionat pait the face forcelebrating the dead day, your drawing it's perfect for halloween! Great job!

Thank you very much @noemilunastorta for your comment. It is the tradition of the Mexicans and the day of the dead is something very special for them. 🤗

wonderful artwork! love your concepts and drawings.
......................................................................................................................
Wishing you a ghoulish Hallowe'en. Hope you get lots of treats tonight!
......................................................................................................................

hahahaha but I will have to behave well or badly to receive those juicy treats? 🤔

Amazing skulls! The details on this drawing look fantasic!

How nice that you liked my drawing @sweettais, thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17