How to Paint Northern Lights | Step by Step Tutorial | Oil Pastels Artwork

in #art5 years ago

Northern Lights Steemit thumbnail.jpg

Hello dear Steemians! Today I'm sharing a tutorial on how to paint the beautiful northern lights using oil pastels mostly. Before I jump into my tutorial, let me explain a little about the northern lights. Northern lights are beautiful dancing lights that can be seen in the northern and southern hemisphere. This wonderful phenomenon happens due to the collision of gas particles such as oxygen and nitrogen. Some of the shades that have been seen are green, yellow, red, violet and blue. I chose to paint the most common shade of the aurora lights which is green.

Tools and Materials

  • Buncho oil pastels
  • A good quality artblock that is durable
  • A 2B pencil to draw
  • Some tissue to clean your fingers after smudging
  • Luna colour pencils

Step by Step Tutorial

P_20190513_200734_HDR.jpg

This is my drawing. There is nothing much except a curve so that I can use it as a guide to part the land and the sky. I chose to use a curve and not a straight line because I wanted my artwork to look like a wide angled view. It is best to make little guides like this to avoid wasting time on correcting mistakes later on.

P_20190513_201857_HDR.jpg

This is my first layer of colours on a small part of my artwork. I coloured it and smudged but it was too dull for my liking.

P_20190513_202444_HDR.jpg

I added a few more layers over the first smudged layer. I feel that it looks better now :D

P_20190513_211012_HDR.jpg

I added a few more colours. It is up to you how you would like it to be. However, try not to add too many colours from different family groups and if you do, keep them subtle and not loud. The reason is to keep the focus on the sky where the bright dancing lights will be and not the ground.

P_20190513_224551_HDR.jpg

I have completed painting the land area here. I did add several colours but I kept them as subtle as I could to an extent.

P_20190513_225709_HDR.jpg

I continued to paint the sky. I wanted the sky to stand out more than the land. So, I added different colours which are pink, rose, purple, violet, and prussian blue. I blended them by going back and forth over the colours with the closest colour value among the shades I have selected. For instance, the closest colour value to rose is purple. Hence, I painted purple above rose and blended them both by colouring on each other on the part where they meet.

P_20190513_232052_HDR.jpg

I painted some greens for the lights on the sky. I have not smudged them yet.

P_20190513_232343_HDR.jpg

This is after smudging the greens with my fingers.

P_20190514_015819_HDR.jpg

Smudging alone was not sufficient to create the best smokey looking effect for me. So, I added some almond green around the darker greens to make it look smokey. If you don't have that colour, you can just use white for the same effect. I also painted more prussian blue on other white areas along with some royal blue for lighter shading. I recommend using at least two different colours for the sky because it creates an illusion of a wider space.

P_20190514_030445_HDR - ori.jpg

I was wondering whether to use a black oil pastel or a black colour pencil to paint some trees. In the end, I chose to go with a black colour pencil because it has a finer tip which allows me to add details. I also don't have to worry about making a mess while layering the existing colours with the darkest colour. Then, I added my final touch by tapping my white oil pastel on the sky region to create some shining stars. This is the completed artwork.

P_20190514_030445_HDR.jpg

This is a cropped version of the same picture. I hope that you enjoyed reading my post and find it helpful. Thank you for checking it out and have a great day/evening ahead ♥

Source of information about northern lights:
Northern Lights Centre

If you like this post, please upvote and leave your feedback below.

If you would like to see more posts from me, follow me.
Stay tuned! xx

bitmoji-20190515020007.png


Click the Images to View My Recent Posts:

Yummy Indian Breakfast - Dosa and Idli with Chicken Curry and Chutney


My Favourite Dessert - MTF #22


Cup of Gold Flower - ColorChallenge Wednesday Yellow


RANT: The Most Annoying Thing About Most Indian Relatives


How to Paint a Realistic Fall Leaf | Step by Step Tutorial | Colour Pencil Artwork


steem artists with tag.png

If you are an artist, do join the Steem Artists Discord Community if you haven't ☻

bitmoji-20190118051733.png

Follow me: @yashny

My Dtube Channel: Yashny

About me:

I'm a chill, happy go lucky person. I am a feminist. I love food, art, books, numbers, psychology and occult science. I am in the process of healing and diving into spirituality. I think life is a gift and we should appreciate the little things of life more. Everything that I post is a little piece of my life. I believe that everyone is carrying their own cross, so don't judge anyone and be kind!

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

Thank you for your support and encouragement
♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

Sort:  

Ah the auroras! They sure paint the sky with such magical forms and colours, don't they :)

Really lovely picture of the northern lights, @yashny! Your colour palette is very evocative of the ethereal colours of the auroras, and I love how you reflect the colours of the sky on the grounds, this detailing really makes the picture for me! Your step by step presentation is also excellent, as usual :)

Thank you so much @veryspider! Yes they do and they look unreal on the pictures :) I actually forgot to mention about the reflection on the grounds lol, I'm glad that you noticed it ❤

Posted using Partiko Android

wonderful, I love how every colour blend perfectly, I think it's kinda hard to paint using pastels, but you did it great, and your step by step really clear.

Thank you @hananan! It is not hard and it is only a matter of time before you get familiar with oil pastels and play with them with your imagination =)

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah as what people say, practice makes perfect 😁 can't wait to see how far you will grow in the future

Thank you so much for your warm words of encouragement!

You're welcome 😊


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you @c-squared! =)

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64111.27
ETH 3065.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00