What would you do for society if you had all resources you needed? @tribesteemup QOTW

in #art6 years ago

I'm not a member of tribesteemup, but I check out their questions of the week sometimes, and I couldn't help but answer with a question of my own...

What makes you think I don't already have all the resources I need? <3

My last post, Pollination; was about my Mabon offering to Aunt Lili. I had intended to include a "How-to" with it, but I was in a rush to post it before heading out camping with my father. Here's the rundown:

2nd1.jpg
2nd.jpg
burlap.jpg

Red ink and bee stamp at Hobby Lobby: $10.00
Package of corn husks at Save-a-lot: $1.00
Two sticks of paste at the Dollar Tree: $1.00
One roll of pennnies: $0.50

An hour of crafting and one walk around town on a beautiful morning : Free

So with $12.50 and the slightest amount of effort, I already had all the resources I needed. And in the end, the pennies are the only things I can't use a dozen times more. That's the thing about art.

The genre known as Film Noir was an accident. These film productions were universally made on a shoe-string budget. The innovative use of light and shadow to induce mood and gravity was the result of directors who quite honestly couldn't afford good lighting. They -wanted- to shoot it properly, but couldn't. So they used what they had in as creative a manner as possible... and ended up revolutionizing the entire industry, entirely by accident. It was years before they even realized that they had made a new genre. The same thing has happened time and again in the ghettos of the horror industry. Before the time of CGI, you had to make do with what you had... and often times the result is brilliance.

As I wrote in a previous post, while great dramatic feats of valor certainly have their place, it is the tiny things, the little "fun-sized" tasks that build our daily reality; that bring us closer to what we are meant to be. Love is an art, and Art will save the world.

Glory has no interest in waiting until you are ready. You must either take it or deny it, and you can make up all the excuses you want... some of them may even be really good ones, like a spinal injury. But that morning when I was having a smoke, and Granny Luci whispered "Now" as the dawn broke... it was just time to go.

Being a witch is so good, folks... It's hard, it's delightful, it's work and it is so immensely worthy. The love is its own reward.

Strength to the Strong,

Silas Danois

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10