RAVENS: ANNOTATIONS ABOUT A CULTURAL MANAGEMENT. An old Squish Painting of 1997 that I rescued to run in the ART EXPLOSION WEEK 61: Theme BIRDS ...

in #art5 years ago (edited)

CUERVOS - APUNTES SOBRE UNA GESTIÓN CULTURAL.jpg

Hello, my esteemed Steem-friends, lovers of art and the politically incorrect. Despite the constant blackouts, here I am again:

Once again it makes me happy to thank @juliakponsford for conceiving and curating this interesting contest as #artexplosion, whose bases are here. If I'm not mistaken, it is still the most important of the Visual Arts contests on all Steem platforms in terms of the power to convene participants, of great quality and in terms of prize amounts, very generous.

I had not participated for a long time because really the serious problems that we suffer in Venezuela make it difficult for me to dedicate the necessary time but the theme of this week, Birds, seemed too tempting to me. To do this, it occurred to me to rescue an old drawing I made in 1997 with the technique called Clesography or Squish Painting of spilling Chinese ink on paper, folding it in half so that randomness can do its job. I thought it was a good metaphor for how cultural policies have been in my country, Venezuela. The name of the original drawing is Apuntes sobre una gestión cultural, this is Annotations about a cultural management and I added the word Cuervos, Ravens, to the updated version.

RAVENS: ANNOTATIONS ABOUT A CULTURAL MANAGEMENT. STEP BY STEP

Well, you may have heard me say that I'm not a professional illustrator but an improvised amateur. So don't expect a big explanation, technically speaking, about how I got to the result I share with you today. I will only briefly describe the steps through which I arrived at the final finish of my Digital Restoration. But I will try:

I did this little exercise of artistic exploration with the free software FireAlpaca, using all its great stock of tools which is available for free.

As a starting point I processed the image of a photo I took when I found in the basement of the house my old drawing along with a lot of vinyl records and manuscripts from when I was younger.

WP_005706.jpg

Then I downloaded and edited the ghostly image with FireAlpaca. I cut this image, rotated it and applied filters to revive its color.

image.png

Then I started a process of Digital Restoration applying layers of paint.

image.png

I then dedicated myself to intervening the image with the option Airbrush and I was spreading touches of color to give homogeneity and greater drama to the original drawing.

image.png

I then downloaded an image to serve as a frame for my drawing. I found it here

image.png

I stole a couple of images of birds and various gold coins to make the subject more relevant.

image.png

image.png

image.png

I thought it was fun to include the image of el Pájaro Guarandol, the Guarandol Bird, a character from the traditional Venezuelan dances.

image.png

Finally, I added the images in various areas of the work area. In this way I gave the actual appearance to the piece, as it appears at the beginning of this post.

With this little artwork I hope you can imagine what a moderately decent Venezuelan artist might feel about cultural politics and about those who have done immense business with it.


Support Venezuelan Artists like I am...
We're in the middle of a big crisis!


𝟙𝟘𝟘% 𝕆ℝ𝕀𝔾𝕀ℕ𝔸𝕃 ℂ𝕆ℕ𝕋𝔼ℕ𝕋
Texts and edition are of my intellectual authorship.

https://www.deepl.com/translator helps me with the translation.

It would be a great pleasure for me if you visited my blog--
@yomismosoy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.37
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70162.45
ETH 3540.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79