Hair Animation steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art5 years ago

Finished on 2019-03-08.

thumb.jpg

Animation has been on my head lately. From quite sometime I wanted to try to animate hair. Also Yesterday was Woman's day, and although I'm fairly apathetic to participate with art on international celebrations and whatnot on social networks and the like, I felt the impulse of making something depicting a woman. At first I thought of something perhaps more abstract, then I thought of something more figurative or fine-artsy. But in the end stylized-action-geekery came to fruition. ( ̄ヘ ̄)

I began blocking the pose and adjusting it to my liking.

I tend not to draw with lines, but rather make blobs of pixels and kind of sculpting them with the eraser and brush tools until I have a silhouette I dig. There are some things that I do draw with lines, for instance in this one, the eyes, head and nose... But they're just a few.

c1.gif

Also I often use the selection tool, select a leg or other part I want to adjust and with the transformation tool I make it bigger, smaller, rotate it, adjust perspective etc... Depending on what makes it look cool... in my head.

I then left this bald girl that reminds me of Asajj Ventress and proceeded to make the animation of the hair on top.

c2.jpg

I got cold feet... (¬_¬;) thought "what if I start with short hair, it should be easy than long hair". So I started painting her a short haircut.

c3.jpg

Easy! I maintained low opacity in the hair's layers so I could see where the head and features were. I just wanted to leave it like that. More cold feet...

Then to add another frame... Man where to start? I duplicated the hair layer and tried to imagine how the hair would move and where it would be. Repeated this 5 times, 5 frames.

c4.gif

Luckily these frames of the short hair felt really smooth when painting them. I did not battled them that much and looked nice.

I left that as it was, went to eat, walk the beasts and did some chores.

Returned to battle the long hair. I did the same, started with a frame, lowered the opacity of the hair, duplicate and repeated.

c5.gif

With this one I did battled, cause at first I wanted to give it a look of inky hair. Like if it was liquid hair hahaha. Nonsense! It looked horrible it was a mess. There was no coherence in the movements...Sadly I did not saved all the eeeww-looking frames, I was super immersed in trying to grasp the movement and making it look sexier and simpler, cause it looked like crap. Honestly.

But after trying several times, little by little, I got to understand a bit more of the movement as well as how to simplify it. In the end I liked how it looked although it retained some of the inky blobbery rubbish (that now that I see it with fresh eyes doesn't look that good). (;⌣̀_⌣́)

c6.gif

I polished the girl.

c7.jpg

And wanted to to experiment with white hair. I selected the content of the layers/frames of the hair.

c8.jpg

Then applied through the menu: Select > Modify > Contract (that makes the selection, which envelopes all the blob of black hair, shrink) I contracted it 2 pixels.

c9.jpg

Then cmd+delete(or backspace) will fill the selected space with the background color. I had white so...

c10.gif

Some artifacts came up. Just painted on top of them. And it looked like this:

c10a.gif

Now that I think of it I could just block the opacity of the layers/frames of the hair and paint it white. But this way it woudn't have the black outline. Let's do it and see how it looks... (∩ᄑ_ᄑ)⊃━☆゚・。・:≡( ε:)

c11.gif

Looks quite nice.

So I made a few gradient-color overlays on top of them and these came out:

c12a.gif

Rainbow hair.

c13.gif

Horizontal flip red noise poapdnapdjf.

c14.gif

And that's that. It would be good to experiment more with the time of the frames, it could look better.

Sort:  

Well done!

Thanks! :D



This post has been manually selected, curated and upvoted by CI mod staff team. Supporting all posts that are in high quality and don’t get enough recognition.



This post was submitted for curation by: @theironfelix
This post was voted: 100%

Thanks for that! <3

Welcome!!!!~ <<<<3333

Really cool!

I love your style!

Would love to have a new avatar by you.. :]

Posted using Partiko Android

Man! Thanks! I can do you an avatar. Just reply me an idea or brief and I would do it. BUT i don't promise a when. Perhaps this next week it depends on how busy ill be on the week. Hugs mate!

Awesome! I would wait months for it :P
Do you have discord? :)

Yes you can find me there as znkd. Also u can conact me through the website in my profile.

I need the number of your Discord account :D

Mine is luegenbaron#7742

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow!!! 😮 Amazing!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Haha many thnx friend <3


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

(Thank+u)(Thank+u)=Thank² + 2Thanku + u²

Awww yeah. That hair flipping back and forth is really great. You captured how it moves by the winds stylishly, and the pink one made it look like she has fire as her hair :D.

Thanks Scrawly! There's so much I wanna learn and try... That there's not enough life. Or perhaps im just plain lazy hahahah.

Haha! Hair yeah!

Congratulations @znkd! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 200 comments. Your next target is to reach 300 comments.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99