A Look Into My Animation Career (Q&A)

in #art5 years ago (edited)

I know, I know I'm not some director of a huge studio and not a famous animator from Disney. But in this post, I would love to answer some of the common questions being asked of me about my animation career. I want to hopefully give an insight and a little of my experience through these questions. Hoping that you would pick up something from all this. I'm pretty sure some of the questions we, animators have come across many times.


 

Zord's Animation Career Q&A


 

1. How and when did you realize that you wanted to become an Animator?



I was deeply inspired by one of the first 3D Animation movie which was 'Toy Story'. This was also the iconic movie that has hit it big time and has open a thousand more doors into the silver screen for the animation industry. I was really young then. And watching how Woody and the toys came to life, really made my dreams come true.

I told my mum, 'Mum, I want to do that when I grow up', pointing at the cinema screen


Without knowing what it was at that time or how could I ever learn or venture into 'this' scene that brought characters to life. The period of when I realize I wanted to be an animator wasn't clear because I did not remember a time when I didn't want to do it. But if you would still ask, It would be after I saw this.



2. Wow, how did you find out that you had the natural talent or skills required to be an animator?


Honestly, I'm one of the weaker ones if you would've come and examine my art classes during my college years. I do not have much of an artistic talent or they call it the 'aesthetic eye' that you need in this creative art industry. During my college years, I've met many friends who can draw and create really amazing art really effortlessly.


When everyone graduated, I was the only one being sent to a 'non-animation' company to do advertising. The rest of my friends had been given an internship placement in one of the biggest companies in Malaysia and I was the only one going into the advertising industry. Feeling like an outcast.

Did it piss me off? It certainly did, not at them though. But because I had to be extra hardworking than the rest if I were to enter the animation world. And So I did it anyway. What's life if you've haven't tried your limits and how far you can go ey?


3. How long does it take for you to finish an episode in a tv series?


So far, It takes me a month to finish a 10 minutes episode working with another 4 animators. I would be given around 35 shots, that is around 75 frames, which is 3 seconds each frame (minimal estimation). Some shots are more than 8 seconds.

35 x 3 = 105 seconds a month of animation

It would be different if it was for a movie but I've never experience animating for movies yet. This is my time for the cartoon tv series industry.

This is one of the cartoons that I've done for a Korean Company
 


4. How is your typical working day like?


I take my time in getting up. I always love a slow and steady way of waking up or you can just call it the snooze habit. My current company is just about 800 meters from my house. YES I KNOW!! How convenient right? Saves me petrol and toll charges monthly and that means more savings.

My animation team and I would have a WIP(work in progress) meeting at 10am right before we start our work. That means we'll be announcing different updates on the projects we're working on and progress of them. After meeting with the team, I plan out my time and shots to finish for the day. Check if there are any retakes or changes from the client's side and off I go.

From time to time, I stop by my junior's desk to check up on them. Recently, I've been promoted to a senior animator so I have to lead and guide the others. So I usually mentor and guide them in their animation for the project. If you would like to watch my most recent TV series that I've worked on, you can click the link below. It's pretty neat!

ARGO's World (Season 1)


 

5. One last question, what is the most difficult part for you as an animator?


It takes up a lot of your time when it's grinding season <--- a term we use when it's busy busy. If the animations were to be longer, it takes more than just a team of 5 animators. It needs a whole company to be running simultaneously. And in Malaysia, we do not have many 'good' talents for hire and so usually the heavy workload falls on us.

I personally am still not there yet and certainly have a long way to go before I hit movie standards. As I've mentioned before, I'm one of the weaker ones, and that means I just have to buckle up and work twice as hard as the others.

I have to be constantly in control of my emotions at receiving critiques daily. Though I hate them, this is the only way I will learn. I also think that every scene is hard.

To animate is one thing, to bring it to life is another.


There's not a day without a challenge. Only a rare kind of insanity would do this. That's me.




PS : This Post has been posted on Steemit before but I feel that it would be good to share again to all my followers.

 

 

Thank You

If you like what I do, check out my other posts on meetups, animation, and designs.

Get your Personalized Steemit Profile Signatures

DM me on discord : zord189#7776

Credits to @pinstory & @coloringiship for this lovely photo of me.


PHC-Footer-05.gif

Animated Banner Created By @zord189




Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://zord189.steemblogs.club/2019/06/07/a-look-into-my-animation-career-qa/

Sort:  

Excellent post, your correct even just minor details when doing vlog edits can make all the difference. I couldn’t image what you guys do when working in a team taking over where one person left off and still bringing what your working on to life as you say.

Posted using Partiko iOS

It's not easy continuing projects being left hanging but it just needs to be done eitherways. Thanks man!

Yea buddy getting over the left hanging part is what throws me for a loop but once I start moving again the path is cut pretty cleanly ❤️

Posted using Partiko iOS

watching how Woody and the toys came to life, really made my dreams come true.
For you, it made your dreams come true. For me, it made me keep an eye out for my toys just in case they start moving at night.



I'm planning to learn animation as well. I know it's going to be hard, but it wouldn't be worthwhile otherwise, right? So yeah, I think it doesn't matter if you have the "natural talent" or not, if you keep doing it you'll get better and better with each frame. And before you know it, you're probably already sitting inside Pixar studio already.

Yes, 'practicing makes perfect' rings very true here. A lot of hard work and time. Ohhh, What do you do for a living?

I quit my last job and currently I'm still looking for a new one. Hopefully in a company where my hobby (3d modelling) can be useful :>

Nice to know more about your story Zord:) Animation is really hard but very exciting, i ve tried a bit with photoshop but at some point i will continue with other programs also. It is beautiful to see more older handcut artworks coming to life:)

Thanks for dropping by @georgeboya! It is hard but I think everything is hard first before it becomes easy. I guess what keeps me going is passion and satisfaction.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70541.68
ETH 3582.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.74